You are here

Beds/Baths

2 BR
1 BA
Sleeps 6
Age 18 and under.

Hearthside Cabin

Description

Hearthside Cabin is a lovely and unique Northern California vacation rental getaway. No matter how long you stay, you won't want to leave! Nestled among towering redwoods and adjacent to beautiful Austin Creek in historic Cazadero, you'll feel like you've come home when you walk into our peaceful oasis in the forest. "Sweet household talk, and phrases of the hearth." ~ These tranquil words of Tennyson's capture the calm relaxing essence of our cabin.

This home offers a spacious living room featuring a rustic wood-burning stove for snug evenings by the fire. Just off the living room is a large open deck overlooking the creek with outdoor dining, a gas grill, hot tub, free wireless internet access and a front landscaped yard with giant redwoods. Plus, when you arrive at the home you'll receive a bottle of complimentary wine!

Hearthside Cabin is located in Cazadero, Sonoma County, where surrounding communities offer all kinds of activities for the entire family. Beaches, golfing, hiking, swimming and, of course, award-winning wineries in the Russian River Valley, are all minutes away.

Know Before You Book:

Maximum Occupancy: The maximum occupancy at Hearthside Cabin is 6. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. until 7:00 a.m. Outdoor amplified sound is prohibited at any time.

Parking: On-site parking easily accommodates 3 vehicles. RVs, trailers and campers are prohibited, per the Sonoma County Vacation Rental Ordinance.

Bed Sizes: First bedroom: Queen bed; Second bedroom: Queen bed; Living room: Queen futon

Heat Source: Electric wall heaters, wood burning fireplace

Seasonal Amenities: Stairs to creek available May-October. During the winter months, the creek is still accessible by navigating the bank down to the water's edge.

Sonoma County TOT #: 2110
Sonoma County Vacation Rental Permit #: ZPE11-0214

Amenities

Amenities

  • Internet Access Wireless Internet
  • Pet Policy Dog Friendly
  • HotTub Hot Tub
  • Fireplace, Wood/Gas Wood Burning Stove
  • Deck/Patio Large back deck
  • View Creek & Redwood View
  • Walk to Austin Creek
  • Creek Access Path to Creek
  • Yard Yard to Creek
  • BBQ Grill Gas Grill
  • Kitchen Full Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Heat Source Elect. Wall Heaters
  • Televisions Cable TV
  • Stereo s/CD Stereo, CD Player
  • Phone Local Calls Only
  • Laundry Facilities Washer & Dryer
  • Baby Items Crib / High Chair
  • Additional Amenities Bottle of Wine
  • Check-In Time 4:00 pm
  • Check-Out Time 12:00 pm
  • Featured Amenity 1 Creekfront

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
September 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2016
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightlyNightly Min. StayWeekly
09/22/16 - 09/28/16$2302$1,380
09/29/16 - 10/06/16$2302$1,380
10/07/16 - 10/09/16$2302$1,380
10/10/16 - 10/19/16$2302$1,380
10/20/16 - 11/20/16$1952$1,170
11/21/16 - 11/26/16$2304$1,380
11/27/16 - 12/22/16$1952$1,170
12/23/16 - 12/29/16$2303$1,380
12/30/16 - 01/01/17$2532$1,380
01/02/17 - 02/16/17$1952$1,170
02/17/17 - 02/19/17$2302$1,170
02/20/17 - 04/30/17$1952$1,170
05/01/17 - 05/25/17$2302$1,380
05/26/17 - 05/28/17$2532$1,380
05/29/17 - 05/30/17$2303$1,380

Reviews

Leave Review

Average Rating 4.25 of 5

"Perfect retreat in the redwoods! Stay here!"

5 of 5

I stayed at the Hearthside cabin for two nights with a group of friends. The house was well taken care of and the amenities were SO nice (hot tub next to the river under the redwoods!) which made for a really peaceful retreat away from it all. The house is also dog friendly with a fenced in yard. Aside from the house, the rental agency was phenomenal and always quick to respond to any questions that I had. To top it off, we went up on a very rainy/stormy weekend and they actually called to make sure we got in okay! Very thoughtful!100% stay here, you will not be disappointed!!!

-Julie B on 03/13/2016

 

"Wonderful stay under redwoods"

5 of 5

Nice quiet location under the trees. My husband & brother who love cooking really appreciated the high quality cooking facilities. Thanks for the space rack too! Little things count. Very clean, tastefully decorated, well designed, updated cabin. Proper wooden fencing without gaps in between, great for the dog, which also meant good privacy. Creek was dry due to the drought, but it was nice walking on it anyways. This place is definitely a place we have on our list to come back to in the future.

Manager Response:

Hello and thank you for sharing a review with future guests!
And for pointing out the details of the recent remodel and work the owners have done this last year or so. The kitchen and dining area are fully remodeled, along with new floors in the living room and a newly done bathroom. We're so glad you had a good time and can't wait to have you back again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-shellontherun on 09/06/2015

 

"Relax under the Redwoods"

5 of 5

Great, updated, super comfortable cabin. We stayed with our two kids (teen and tween) and our dog. Tastefully updated cabin, comfortable beds, great hot tub, beautiful deck and don't forget to get the hammock out of the shed for an afternoon siesta! Good internet also! Since we are in a drought it wasn't too surprising to find bare spots in the creek, but still fun to explore. Russian River is 10 minutes away. We had two small issues-one was an emergency call because the two coffee makers on site didn't work! One cranky call had a new one delivered that afternoon-the only other minor thing is that the screen door from the kitchen to the deck will not stay on the track, but given the overall condition of the property, I suspect the owner will deal with it soon. We will definitely be back!

Manager Response:

Thanks for the review!
For future guests: there is a brand new coffee maker at the house! We had delivered our loaner one from the office before these guests arrived, but it stopped working too. We're always happy to make things right - even without a "cranky" phone call from guests.

Otherwise - we're glad you had a good time at the house and hope we'll see you again!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-indigomom on 08/16/2015

 

"Disappointed"

2 of 5

THE POSITIVES- Beautiful location, comfortable beds, nice kitchen and a wonderful deck/ hot tub.THE NEGATIVES- Pocket door on bathroom doesn't lock or close completely, a BIG deal when it comes to privacy, plus it wakes the entire house up when it gets opened and closed if someone needed to use the bathroom at night. The refrigerator compressor wakes you up ever 30 minuets or so when it kicks on, so whoever sleeps on the futon is screwed from a restful nights sleep. No fire wood is provided, however the pictures show a full rack of wood next to the wood burning stove giving you the impression you'll have wood to burn. Also not a lot of privacy when your in the Jacuzzi, the neighbor to our right had direct line of sight to our tub. The creek was bone dry in most places, its seasonal and we are in a drought but the pictures show a full creek so we had to drive to Rio Nido to launch our Kayaks, another wonderful surprise was the aroma of marijuana drifting in and out of our deck/hot tub from the neighbors back yard. We couldn't get the oven broiler to light and the gas BBQ has to be lighted with a hand held lighter, the electronic lighter doesn't work and they have a leak someplace on the BBQ as I kept smelling Propane, be sure to block in the tank after each use. Additionally the home guide said there where two remotes for the TV, we only located one and it wasn't very user friendly. If you choose to rent this home it pays to call ahead and ask if any of these issues have been resolved...

Manager Response:

Hello to Future Guests -

I appreciate the listing of positives with these comments. As I discussed by phone with the guest on the day of checkout, we could have addressed a number of these concerns right away if we'd been called. I'm sorry to say Northern California is in the midst of a multi-year drought and without additional rain, the tributary creeks are drier than some years. Though, even in a normal year, seasonal creeks go dry or mostly dry by mid-summer and full-size kayaks are rarely appropriate for this creek. Since so many of our guests call and ask about creek and river conditions before arriving, we talk about it a lot each day and I was surprised these guests were shocked and very unhappy about the lack of water in Austin Creek. We clearly state Austin Creek is seasonal and that firewood is not provided (though it's shown in the staging of the house).

The BBQ is in good working order except for needing a long-handled lighter (provided) since the ignition button has gone out. It is the most common part to break on a BBQ and does not make sense to replace over and over again when it is so easy to use the lighter. The propane odor is not a leak, but the un-burned gas before lighting the burner and the valve on the propane should always be turned over between uses - always!

With all the changes in Comcast and Xfinity equipment of late, there is now one remote to control the TV and Comcast box. I apologize the instructions still list both remotes, but it's actually much easier to use now. All in all, I'm very sorry this guest didn't enjoy their stay as much as expected, but many of the listed negatives were quick fixes, not actually broken or completely out of our control as Mother Nature has more to say about rain than I do. We are having someone look at the pocket door to the bathroom, since it's the first mention of it as a problem since a remodel this winter. I hope future guests will take a look at the other great reviews for Hearthside Cabin and call our office if you have questions about anything at all - including how much water is in the creek or river, what is and is not provided at the home, or anything else. We're happy to help you find the right house for you and your group.

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Tom S on 08/13/2015

 

"We love the place"

5 of 5

We stayed at Heartside cabin in the last week of May to celebrate our sons 7th birthday. We really had a great time at the cabin. It was very clean and well equipped. Our kids (4 and 7) enjoy the creek so much that tiny little fish are here and there everywhere swimming in the creek. The management team was very helpful and responsive too. We will definitely stay there again.

Manager Response:

Hello and Thank you for the kind words!
This is a great home for folks with kids! There's a path and stairs down to the creek (not in the winter, sorry!) for easy access and splashing in the creek! There are tadpoles, wee little fishies and baby fish in the creek depending on the time of year... And otters too! They are too much fun to watch! But if they see you watching them play, they'll hide... Bashful!

I hope we'll see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Moe A on 05/31/2015

 

"Everything was great except the neighbor"

4 of 5

We stayed at Hearthside Cabin over the Fourth of July weekend. The cabin is terrific. Comfortable, well equipped, and freshly remodeled. Perfect for visiting with Sonoma County friends and relatives. Austin Creek was perfect for splashing around with our 4 year old grandson. The staff of the agency was great with every contact we had with them.The yard is pretty well fenced - enjoyable for our well behaved Corgi. She had fun in the creek too.Our next door neighbor had a party with many guests and live bands featuring amplified music. Very loud. Until 3:30 in the morning., when the sheriff was called.The agency staff was awesome and sympathetic, and the owner generously gave us a refund on part of the rent. Next time we won't wait so long to call the sheriff.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the kind words! We think Hearthside Cabin is pretty great ourselves... Especially with the new kitchen (remodeled this spring).

And, as the person that talked to you after the crazy party next door, I am again very, very sorry!!! Holiday weekends tend to be noisier than most, but this was outrageous! Guests are always welcome to call our after hours emergency line so we can address issues that come up when the office is closed.

Thank you, again, and I hope we'll see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Janet R on 08/20/2014

 

"Russian River weekend escape"

5 of 5

Jeff, our two four legged kids and I escaped from our hectic day to day to Hearthside Cabin. The cabin is clean, cozy as shown in pics posted, with the great creek access it was so easy to wear out our doggies. We spent most of our weekend on the deck whether eating breakfast or BBQ for dinner, playing with the dogs in the creek so it was our own hideaway. The property manager team was so helpful, friendly, pleasant each time I contacted them so it was a bonus so I will definitely will use this service again in the fall.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the kind words! We're here to help - and glad to do it! And we're thrilled you and the dogs enjoyed the house and creek too! I bet they had an awesome time... My mutt loves Austin Creek too.

Hope to see you soon!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/29/2013

 

"Beautiful Home away From Home"

5 of 5

This property was easy to get to and very well laid out floor plan, deck and easy Creek entrance. The house was equipped with everything one could want. Quiet though on major road and plenty of opportunities to stare at the early morning or stars at night from the deck or through the skylight in the living room. Plenty to drive to during day and relax at place late afternoon and night. Cell phone is not available if not Verizon in area but Wifi with iPad and tv reception great. This is a gem any season. We will be venturing again here. Very pleased with the furnishing and kitchen items. The bedrooms are quiet and comfortable. The bottle of wine as a greeting was a nice gesture. There wasn't anything we could improve upon.

-Lisa H. on 08/17/2013

 

"Perfect getaway"

5 of 5

This house was perfect for us on Memorial Day weekend! Location was easy and house on the creek was delightful. I wish the weather had been better but that is not a reflection on the house. Given that fact, though, cable would've been nice but the dvd player sufficed. Great place -- thanks!

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thanks for sharing a review - Hearthside Cabin is in a great spot! I'm surprised to hear that you didn't have cable. Maybe is was out because of the weather - but it should have been there. Please, you can always call us if an advertised amenity is not working property. We do have folks go out and check homes before each guest, but if something goes out between the inspection and your arrival we'd like a chance to fix it (or call Comcast).

Thanks again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/11/2013

 

"A lovely stay in the woods"

4 of 5

Overall, this was a lovely home in the woods. The back patio with the grill and hot tub were a plus. We also enjoyed the indoor fireplace and dining table and puzzles in the home. One detractor was a funny smell in the home when all doors and windows were closed- kind of a moldy smell.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing a review! We love this home in the woods!
I looked back to see when you stayed - in March after we had quite a bit of rain, so there may have been a residual musty odor. I'll asking the cleaner to double check, but my guess is that everything has dried out since then.

Thanks again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-EBL on 06/11/2013

 

"Great Place!"

5 of 5

The great adventure started from the time of making the reservation. Great service and seamless assistance from everyone in the office! The home was spotless and very inviting. Lots of space and convenientely located. The amenities and hot tub were a big plus, especially after hiking all day in the nearby arstromg Woods!Peaceful and romantic nights were the cherry on the cake! There is no place like home! Heartside Cabin made us feel at home!

Manager Response:

Thank you for the praise!
It's lovely to hear about your stay at Hearthside Cabin and that you enjoyed working with us too! It is our goal!

There are also some great swimming holes in Austin Creek if you're up for a cooler swim!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/06/2013

 

"Awesome house, Amazing weekend!"

5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for 3 fabulous nights this past March. The house was spacious but still had a cozy cabin feel. Great location nestled into the trees with a fantastic view/access to the river below. Best parts were the outdoor barbeque, awesome jacuzzi under the stars and the wood burning fireplace in the living room.

Manager Response:

Hello and Thank you!
You said it all - thank you!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/05/2013

 

"Just Right"

5 of 5

Hearthside cabin is just the right combination of quiet, comfortable and cozy. Our family enjoyed our week stay and was really sad to leave. The folks at RR rentals were easy to deal with and made for a hassle free stay. The location was the crown jewel, but the afternoons in the hammock or cooking dinner on the deck were not too shabby either...

Manager Response:

Hello!
I hope you'll be able to come back and relax more! Thank you for the review and kind comments!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/04/2013

 

"Hidden away"

4 of 5

Hearthside cabin was very well equipped in every way. The kitchen, while small, had everything a foodie could want and it spills out onto a wonderful deck complete with a large BBQ. The deck is amazing. The beds were comfortable with nice linens. Only one drawback for us was, a dry year, so the creek (just off the deck) wasn't running so it was kind of a green puddle. Walking from the cabin is on a well traveled road, so trucks were lumbering by a lot. Lots of fun activities are close by, so overall it was in a great area!

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing a review! It's great to hear about your visit and that you enjoyed the house... Depending on when you are here, Austin Creek does go dry, but I love walking in the creek at that point. My dog pounces some of the remaining puddles and tries to carry all the sticks back to the house. We love that the house is set way back off the road and the lot is all fenced along the road and sides so kids and dogs aren't tempted to walk into the road. And it cuts back on noise from cars too.

I hope we'll see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Kimberly on 12/14/2012

 

"Wonderful place"

5 of 5

We stay in the house for 4 days and we really enjoyed it. Kids has so much fun to play in the creek and hot tub.

Manager Response:

Austin Creek is such a treasure - I'm glad your kids got to enjoy playing in it!

Lena Hoffman
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/11/2012

 

"Great weekend at Cazadero"

5 of 5

We were there for a 50th wedding anniversary at Raymond's Bakery (Elim Grove), near Caz. I highly recommend Raymonds for Fri. night pizza and morning/afternoon meals. The cabin was clean, beds comfortable, and kitchen quite adaquite. It was rainy and cool Fri. night, the fireplace was a welcome amenity. The property on austin Creek was very well kept, with a very nice forest setting. We did not use the hot tub, but it appeared to be new, in great condition. Thanks Russian River Vacation Homes for your service!

-Don, Sharon, & Mom (95yrs. old) on 07/25/2012

 

"Peaceful"

5 of 5

We have rented Hearthside Cabin two years in a row. It is very relaxing and peaceful. We went in March both times and loved the weather. Sitting in the hot tub watching and listening to the water flow by was the best! The cabin is very comfortable. We will rent again.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/24/2012

 

"Perfect"

5 of 5

Loved the valentine special great property in excellent condition and good communication to book and for smooth late arrival process wish the deposit would be reimbursed a bit quicker otherwise totally perfect

Manager Response:

Hi!
Thanks for the review! Hearthside Cabin is a great spot... And we're glad you and your Valentine enjoyed the Cabin! After hours check in is pretty darn easy and we're happy to facilitate anytime.

Our office refunds the security deposit 10 to 14 days from the date of departure. Unfortunately, when there is damage at a property it can take all 14 days to get estimates and repairs completed (depending on the damage, of course). Then we know how much will be charged to the guest. That said, it's a pretty rare day when something horrible happens since we have such great guests! We try to get deposits returned as quickly as possible within those parameters.

And we hope to see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/17/2012

 

"Great Location and Spacius Rooms"

4 of 5

Great Location and clean room and bathrooms. I will stay again

Manager Response:

Thank you!
Heathside Cabin is in a great spot for hiding under the redwood trees along Austin Creek OR meandering out to the coast OR wandering in wine country. Or, you can do all three!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/15/2012

 

"Great relaxing weekend!"

4 of 5

The cabin was beautiful, had great weather, we Bbq'd oysters and had a blast!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/15/2012

 

"Beautiful, peaceful & romantic haven"

4 of 5

We were very, very happy with this little haven under the redwood trees. The setting is very private and quiet. I esp enjoyed looking up into the huge redwood trees from the deck and the jacuzzi. The house is well equiped and very cozy. We felt like we were staying in a friend's home instead of a rental. We hope to return later this year.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing! We love our trees... And glad you had a chance to experience them too! See you soon, I hope!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Robyn on 02/15/2012

 

"Beautiful house in a great location, amazing value!"

5 of 5

The house was charming, and a good size for 6 (sharing beds). The backyard and stream access were both beautiful and private, making the whole place feel like quite the getaway. I'd be more than happy to stay at this exact house again, should I ever have another reason to rent a place in the area.

Manager Response:

Hello!
We're so glad you enjoyed Hearthside Cabin! And we enjoyed your stay too... Thank you for the review! The owner has made some nice improvements over the last couple years and it really shows!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Jacob W on 10/19/2011

 

"Great Relaxation"

5 of 5

I had grown up going to Cazadero during the summer and had very fond memories. I specifically remember being right on austin Creek. I wanted to share that experience with my children.The house is nicely appointed, clean, and well looked-after. The only negative thing is that there was a slight musty smell when we first entered. This is surely do to the humid/moist environment in the redwoods. There was a slightly stronger smell in the bathroom, but neither smell was bothersome (and I have a very sensitive nose). The house is in a great location. Right on austin Creek, and it is easy to access the creek from the property. The kids enjoyed playing in the creek, and my wife and I enjoyed the bucolic, peaceful setting. The driveway gate in the front is a nice, "peace-of-mind" feature. Although near roads on both sides of the creek, the sound of traffic were minimal or non-existent.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay at this home again, if the opportunity arose.

Manager Response:

Hi!

We're so glad to have helped you share Cazadero with your family... And Hearthside Cabin is a great spot for playing in the creek, a quick drive to the coast or inland for other activities. But we love the "hang out" appeal too!

Thank you for letting us know about the light musty odor - it helps us address issues when guests let us know something is off. We've already contacted the cleaner for an assessment.

I hope we'll see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins

-Jim on 09/22/2011

 

"A wonderful week in the redwoods"

5 of 5

We loved our week spent at Hearthside Cabin, enjoying the beautiful surroundings, splashing in austin Creek and especially our daily fun in the swimming hole just down the way. Raymond's Bakery is a treasure and we love the proximity to Healdsburg, Occidental, the coast and drives along the Russian River. Sonoma County is a magical area and we have fallen in love with this part of California. The cabin is charming and was adequately equipped for all we needed. A small downside is the very busy highway in front of the cabin, but the new fencing made us feel much more secure, as we our beloved Labrador, Maggie, was with us again this year after being hit by a car on the Hwy when we stayed at Hearthside two summers ago. A lucky "bounce" off a speeding fender amazingingly caused no injury!The hot tub is the perfect place to gaze up into the redwoods and relax after a fun day of kayaking or canoeing. All-in-all, a wonderful experience!

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing your review of Hearthside Cabin with folks! We are very lucky to live in this beautiful part of the world and it sounds like Maggie is a super lucky pup! We really appreciate the fence all around the property for both kids and dogs... And the occasionally bumbling spouse.

Of course, Raymond's Bakery is a local favorite and we love visiting when they have live music (some Fridays)! The highway quiets down in the off season too.

:)

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Missing Cazadero! on 09/14/2011

 

"Enjoyable"

4 of 5

The cabin was wonderful and very clean. However, the spa was not clean and we had a difficult time trying to figure out how to work it.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thanks for leaving a review for Hearthside Cabin... All of our spas are on weekly service and we always hope folks will call the office if additional services are needed. We can schedule those as needed.

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/04/2011

 

"Cozy peaceful cabin with a great view"

4 of 5

The cabin is very cute, the deck in the back was great. Very quiet neighborhood. There is plenty of room to park and i liked that the front has a gate that encloses the parking area. The beds were very comfy, a little tight for six with only one bathroom. Overall it was very good and I would recommend this cabin to friends.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/08/2011

 

"Great little cabin in the woods"

5 of 5

We absolutely loved the Hearthside Cabin! It was cute, quaint (not to be read as small), and full of great amenities. There were guide books and maps, restaurant suggestions with descriptions of each. There were plenty of blankets and pillows. The decor was cute without being cheesy. The fireplace worked great! (two things we'd recommend to the owners: stock more kindling because it was difficult to get the fire started without fire starters we had to go out and buy, and leave instructions on which direction opens the flue). We even left thing behind (despite all the reminders not to) and the rental company graciously mailed them back to us. The service is the only thing I rated as satisfactory; the cable/internet was down when we were there and the manager was supposed to call us on Saturday to arrange a price reduction but never did. Not a big deal though, considering the great value that the Hearthside Cabin is.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for leaving a review for future guests to read! Great info! I'm please to say I wrote and put together the About the Area Binders for our homes and am quite proud of all the info provided: hike and bike recommendations, restaurants, dog and kid specific info and more... If you have suggestions I want to add them too!

And I agree about the directions for the fireplace flue - I always get it wrong the first time! And I'll get that info from the owner. For kindling and firewood - we don't supply it for the house... It tends to walk away.

Thank you, again -
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/21/2011

 

"Cozy cottage, but needs a bit of love"

3 of 5

Some friends and I stayed at Hearthside in March for our annual "girls getaway". Overall, we had a lot of fun. Cabin is cute, but needs a bit of work. Here are some things we loved:1. Hot tub! It's a must. Loved the trees and the water right out the back.2. The back porch is awesome. It rained, so we couldn't really use it... but if it was nice out we definitely would have.3. There are games stored in the coffee table which were a lot of fun. Gave us some good laughs.4. The beds were comfortable (however one room was kinda cold-- the one w/ the creepy closet)5. Everything looked clean, also a must.6. Everyone I spoke w/ over the phone was super friendly and helpful.Here are a few things they can improve on:1. Only 2 rolls of toilet paper in the whole house. Not enough.2. The bathroom door(pocket style) doesn't close all the way. There's a gap. And I think the toilet leaks.3. Only enough hot water for 1.5 hot showers. Yes, mine was the last .5 and it wasn't very pleasant.4. This wasn't anyone's fault, but there was a big storm and the power & water went out our last evening there. It was out for several days.5. The plug-in "ready-to-use" flashlights didn't work. Good thing we found extras in a drawer!6. Also not their fault, but was a bummer- I got a call on our way up there saying the wi-fi was out and wasn't going to be back up anytime that weekend.So besides the stormy weekend nature threw at us, and a couple plumbing issues, the cozy cottage was a lot of fun. Very cute.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for the review! I love the ups and downs of your stay! I'm making work orders about the flashlights and pocket door next... And I remember that wildly stormy weekend and calling you about the WiFi and such! We had outages (power, water, cable, phones) all over the county and even had a funnel cloud pick up a roof a couple towns over! Other than bugging the utility companies for updates, there wasn't much we could do - at my house either. But, to the couple things we can address:

House supplies. We provide a starter supply of toilet paper, paper towels, and such for each house. This is frequently enough for a short stay or small group, but usually folks need to get more if they stay very long or have more guests. Unfortunately, we've experienced folks taking home all the extraneous supplies when they leave... I'm sure you wouldn't but we've had to cut back a bit as a result.

Hot Showers. Most of our homes have propane hot water heaters and they do need time to heat the next round of water before the next shower. Even many of the on demand heaters in our homes have the same issue. At my house, we wait 15 to 30 minutes between showers for the hot water heater to catch up.

We really appreciate your list of positives about Hearthside Cabin!!! We love the hot tub, deck, cleaners and stocked games too! I hope you can come to the river for a weekend with out winter mayhem... Or the pitfalls of country living...

Megan Perkins :)
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/20/2011

 

"Great relaxing time"

4 of 5

I decided to take my wife on a little getaway before wrestling season started for me. I decided to take her to the Russian River area to do a little wine tasting and relaxation. We arrived rather late in the evening with our dogs and were pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to find the house. It was truly relaxing, but was not too clean. The kitchen was rather dirty as was the floor. We were hoping we would not be charged for this (we brought our dogs with us). The stay otherwise was excellent, and we are looking forward to going back. As a matte rof fact after this weekend, we decided to start looking for a home to buy up in the Russian River area. Great wine and friendly people.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/17/2010

 

"Russian River Vacation"

3 of 5

Everything was ok but the hot tub that was always cold. Other than that this was a nice place with access to the creek from the backyard.

Manager Response:

Thanks for staying with us at Hearthside Cabin!

Through the diligence of an electrician, spa repair fellow, and spa service tech, the heater re-set has finally been fixed and the tub should no longer be cold!

Thanks -
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Marcelo on 09/19/2010

 

"It was meant for us the perfect place to work and relax!"

4 of 5

I love Frieda and he loves Diego and the back yard was bliss!!!The river was a pleasant surprise being right at my back door

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/23/2010

 

"Relaxing vacation home"

4 of 5

The Hearthside cabin was a lovely, relaxing vacation home in a beautiful setting. The house itself was conveniently located in the Russian River valley near Guerneville and Monte Rio. It was clean and nicely appointed with the very convenient benefit of a washer and dryer.I have younger girls (10 and 6) and being on the creek (instead of the river) was a great benefit since they felt very confident about playing in the water.The deck was a great place to cook, eat, and play games and hanging out in the hammock and spa were fantastic. The best part was it was a dog-friendly house and we really appreciated being able to bring our dog.A good value for a family vacation.

-C on 07/16/2010

 

"Will definitely come back! ;)"

5 of 5

The vacation home was PERFECT! It was exactly what my boyfriend and I needed...a nice little getaway from the city. The home was cozy and cute with beautiful trees surrounding it. We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends. I do want to say we were a bit disappointed by the hot tub...it may need maintenance as the water never got warmer...stayed lukewarm if not a bit on the cold side. ;)Thanks, again!Julie & JeffSan Francisco, CA

Manager Response:

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Ellen DeProto - Russian River Vacation Homes

-Julie & Jeff on 04/02/2010

 

"Beautiful Creekside Location Near Spectacular Scenery"

4 of 5

This is all about location, location, location. The cabin is on Austin Creek in the midst of a second growth stand of redwoods. The creek view is spectacular and the trees beautiful. The neighbors are a bit close to the cabin, and one next door is pretty rundown and unscenic. But the creek and the skylights in the cabin make you feel like you are alone in the woods. (The hot tub is not really private, so plan on a bathing suit.) The cabin's interior is comfortable and functional, remodeled a while back, and about what you would expect from a nice vacation rental. It's not a gourmet kitchen, but fully equipped and functional, and, again, this cabin is really about location.The area where the cabin is located is in the sweet spot for drives and hikes in one of the most beautiful places on Earth, the watershed of the Russian River. It's a short drive to Armstrong Redwoods State Park, Austin Creek State Reserve, the mouth of the Russian River, and the spectacular coast near it. Heading up the Austin Creek valley into the coastal mountains where the creek originates takes you to country back roads that provide spectaular vistas, to creekside groves of redwoods, lush with ferm and oak trees and to views of intimate little creeklets flowing down from the steep hillsides and into the creek, their little valleys filled with redwoods, moss, fern, rocks and little waterfalls. If you want to explore some of the most beautiful places you'll ever see, and especially if you want to see the redwoods very up close and very personal, this is a good place to make your home base. This review is the result of a winter visit. In the summer, the cabin's decks, its creekside location and proximity to Russian River beaches would be attractions.

Manager Response:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
We appreciate your honesty and hope you'll be back to visit again!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Baron von Munchausen of California on 02/25/2010

 

"Big bummer"

2 of 5

When we arrived the property management checked us in and handed us the keys telling us it was okay to check in early. We went to the property and unlocked the door finding a cleaner still in the property. The cleaner would not let us come in until he was finished so we had to wait in the car for 30 min. when we were finally allowed to come in, the first thing I wanted to do is jump in the hot tub (rented because of the hot tub)The hot tub was almost completely empty. We called the property mngr and they said they would be out later that day and that they noticed there was a leak. They gave me permisson to fill it with the hose and turn it on to heat it because it was ice cold. We went into town and came back later to find the hot tub empty again. (definately a leak) Sooo no hot tub I was very disappointed. Also I was disappointed with the lack of privacy. The next door neighbors were close and could see the hot tub from their deck. this was misrepresented in the ad

Manager Response:

Hello,

I think I remember your visit... Hearthside Cabin's hot tub went through some tough times earlier this year. The Leak was repaired, the perpetually self-shutting-off heater reset button has been fixed, and the electrical wiring upgraded entirely. So, I am happy to say this is no longer an issue. And I can honestly say that the hot tub privacy has not been mis-represented. Hearthside Cabin is in a residential neighborhood and neighbors are on the other side of the fence, but they aren't interested in watching the hot tub! There are photos of the hot tub on our website and we encourage folks to look at them before booking...

If there's ever a question about privacy, closeness to neighbors, specific amenities, or anything - please call the office! We have been to our homes, know what's there and so on... And we want you to be happy in the home you have rented!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/04/2010

 

Location