You are here

7 BR
4.5 BA
16 Guests
Pool House living space, a wonderful gathering areaWarm, cozy, a place for friends and family to gatherThe Pool House living area has full kitchen, dining areaThe kitchen island - prep and socialize at the same timeWall of doors leads to the pool and hot tub areaHot tubBlack Mountain's pool - private ideal settingUpstairs landing leads to the two pool house bedroomsPool House Bedroom with King BedPool House Bedroom, private, nature viewsPatio off the bedroomPool House Bedroom, Two Queen BedsThis bedroom sleeps 2-4Pool House half bath, off same landing as bedroomsPool House half bath has toilet and sinkOutdoor dining at the Pool House.With the overhang, outdoors are available rain or shineBuilt-in charcoal BBQ (or use the gas Weber Grill)Pool House full bathroom, with shower, located ground levelPool House showerPool House showerFarm House, top of driveway for parking or turning aroundFarm House living and diningDining Table, Farm House. Stairs lead to 4 bedroomsBlackMountain28Farm House, living area, door leads to downstairs bedroomFarm House TVWood Stove provides plenty of heat, firewood providedFarm House, bistro table for extra dining spacePing Pong, off the dining areaFarm House kitchenFarm House breakfast tableFarm House kitchenFarm House, upstairs bedroom 1, queen bed, balconyFarm House, upstairs bedroom 1, door to jack and jill bathFarm House, upstairs bedroom 2, queen bedFarm House, upstairs bedroom 2, door to balconyFarm House, upstairs jack and jill bathroom, showerBalcony, private forest views. Amazing!Farm House, upstairs bedroom 4, queen bedFarm House, upstairs bedroom 4BlackMountain45Farm House, upstairs bedroom 5, three twin bedsFarm House, upstairs hallwayFarm House, upstairs hallway bathroom, tub and showerFarm House, downstairs bedroom, queen bed, door to deckFarm House, downstairs bedroomFarm House, downstairs bathroom, showerPool House and Pool, view from the hot tubPool House Pool, relax in the shady arborFarm House viewFarm House deckFarm House outdoor diningLooking from Farm House deck to Pool HouseCloser view, view from Farm House of Pool HouseAround the property, plenty to exploreView from pool area of the Farm HouseDrivewayDrivewayPool HouseBlackMountain08BlackMountain13Lots of poolside seatingSun and Shade, lazy summer daysAnother photo of the pool area, sunbathe on the lawnMidday sun, from the Farm House balconyFaik, Our Caretaker

Search Availability

Description

Welcome to Black Mountain! This amazing property is the source of joyous memories for the owners and their extended family and friends for many years. And, they're excited to share it with you! The Farmhouse and Pool House are situated on 92 beautiful acres in the Russian River Valley, with views of serene forests and hills. Though private (there is an onsite caretaker family), Black Mountain is in the ideal location for your Sonoma County getaway. The Russian River is just under a mile away, and there are numerous wineries and vineyards within a short drive.

The Farmhouse was built in 1932 and retains much of its original character. On the main floor, the modernized kitchen with extensive counter space, breakfast table, bar seating and adjacent enclosed sun room with ping-pong table allows you to gather with friends and family while cooking, eating and playing without breaking up the festivities. The kitchen is well stocked for serious food events and well lit with generous windows and built in lighting. The living room with woodstove and TV (DVD player only), a second dining area and a bedroom with queen bed and a full bathroom round out the downstairs area. A wide deck with built in bench and additional seating stretches the length of the Farm House and wraps around the kitchen to end at an outdoor shower. Upstairs you'll enjoy the updated 2 full bathrooms and décor throughout the 4 bedrooms - each one is distinctive with original artwork and pieces collected locally and around the world blended with contemporary touches. Two of the bedrooms open to a balcony overlooking the valley and hills.

The Pool House, just down the driveway from the Farmhouse, was designed and custom built in 1999 by the current owners. Your first stop at the Pool House is the great room with open trestle ceilings, fireplace, built-in window seat, generous seating areas including a lovely wood dining table, and kitchen with ample wood and concrete counter tops. International folk art and on- of-a-kind furniture make this a remarkable space to gather. There are also musical instruments - a piano, guitar and drums - and sheet music and lyrics for the musically talented. With multiple exterior entrances and large outdoor gathering spaces, the vibe is distinctly upscale camping. An extensive covered patio with built in grill and large table connects the great room to the bedrooms and bathrooms. The two spacious bedrooms and half bath (toilet and sink) are up a set of exterior stairs. Exterior doors lead from a small covered outdoor hallway into each bedroom and the half bath. The bedroom facing the hillside has a queen bed and a private patio and the bedroom facing the lawn and pool area has two queen beds. Both have grand windows to allow sunlight and great views! On the ground level, the full bathroom is definitely upscale camping! The entrance is below the front bedroom and faces the pool area, but once inside the shower and toilet have separate rooms and there are benches and hooks for all towels, shoes and clothes while you play at the pool.

Abundant outdoor seating areas, numerous fruit trees, grassy lawns, pool, hot tub and BBQs inspire outdoor living at Black Mountain! The main area of outdoor activity is around the pool and Pool House. There are multiple BBQ options, including a gas grill and a built-in charcoal grill. The covered BBQ patio extends to the pool, which has a safety cover, and along the front side of the Pool House. At the far end of the patio is a 6-person spa.The lawn and stage area to the side of the wisteria covered lounge area are another great place for guests to hang out. Between the apple, pear and plum trees facing the pool is a kid's play structure with swings and a slide. There is truly something for everyone!

Know Before You Book

Maximum Occupancy and Quiet Hours: The maximum occupancy is 16. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. until 7:00 a.m. Outdoor amplified sound is prohibited at any time.

Driveway and Parking: The driveway is an uphill ½ mile, gravel and single lane. On-site parking is permitted for a maximum of 7 vehicles.RVs, trailers and campers are prohibited.

Bed Sizes: Farmhouse: Main Floor Bedroom(downstairs): Queen Bed. Upstairs Bedrooms: Bedroom 1: Queen Bed, Bedroom 2: Twin Bed and Twin Bunk Bed, Bedroom 3: Queen Bed, Bedroom 4: Queen Bed. Pool House Bedrooms: Bedroom 1: Queen Bed, Bedroom 2: Two Queen Beds.

Caretaker Cottage: The caretaker, Faik (pronounced like Mike), lives in the cottage at the top of the driveway, just before the pool house. There is a visual barrier between the cottage and the poolhouse that preserves the privacy of guests. Faik is very respectful of guest privacy. He is not available to guests unless there is an event that poses a real challenge to guest comfort, such as a power or water outage, trespass, fire danger or similar unlikely events. He has been instructed to call our office and report any gatherings that exceed the maximum occupancy, or any other guest activity that is in blatant violation of our rules and potentially dangerous or damaging to the property.

Rural Property: Black Mountain is a rural family compound. There is a variety of plants and animals living on and around the 92-acre forested hillside. Guests should be prepared to encounter spiders, ants, wasps, mosquitoes, tics, poison oak, lizards, deer, raccoons, mice and more.

While the homes and grounds are spacious, well-furnished, clean and comfortable, this is not a luxury property. There is no air conditioning, most but not all doors and windows have screens, and the home systems, such as the septic system and the well system, require conscientious treatment.

Pool Heating: The pool has the passive solar heat turned on mid-March through mid-November. The amount of sun and the average temperature will affect the temperature of the pool. In Spring and Fall (mid-March to mid-May and mid-October to mid-November), the temperature varies between 60° and 80°. Mid-May to mid-October, the temperature is typically ideal for swimming, between 80° and 85°. During the winter months, the pool is not heated and stays around 50°. Because this system relies on the outside temperature and the amount of sun we get, we cannot guarantee the pool temperature at any time. Please contact our office if you need more information on pool temperatures.

Take advantage of our Winter rates when the pool is not heated - Black Mountain is a great place to spend a Winter weekend, and the hot tub is hot year-round!

Heat Source: The Farmhouse does not have central heat. There are electric space heaters in all bedrooms and living areas, and a wood-burning stove in the living room. The Pool House has zoned radiant-floor heating and a fireplace.

Distance to the Russian River: The river at the Hacienda Bridge is 1 mile away.
Cell Phones: Please be aware that many cell phones will not have service at this location. There is WiFi though!

Stairs: Exterior Stairs - The pool house bedrooms are up a flight of exterior stairs. Four of the Five Farmhouse bedrooms are up an interior flight of stairs. One Farmhouse bedroom and bathroom are ground-level.

Summer Rotation Day: Thursday
During the Peak Season, which runs end of June through August, Black Mountain has a 7 night minimum and rents on a Thursday to Thursday pattern. If you make an online reservation outside of this rotation day requirement, we may contact you about altering your dates.

Sonoma County TOT #: 209
Sonoma County Vacation Rental Permit: ZPE15-0153

Amenities

Facilities: 
  • Express Check-in
  • Shampoo
  • Conditioner
  • Basic Supplies
  • Iron/Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer
  • Washer
  • Dryer
  • Wood Stove
  • Off-Street Parking
  • Radiant Floor Heat
  • Electric Heating
Outdoors: 
  • Gas BBQ
  • Charcoal BBQ
  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Outdoor Shower
  • View
Area: 
  • Wineries Nearby
Kitchen And Dining: 
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Blender
  • Spices
  • Toaster
  • Full Kitchen
  • Dishes and Utensils
  • Dishwasher
Entertainment: 
  • Telephone
  • Internet Access
  • Television
  • DVD player
  • Wireless Internet
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Games And Recreation: 
  • Hot Tub
  • Pool
  • Rec Room
  • Ping Pong Table

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2022
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
 
March 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

Reviews

Leave a Review

Absolutely perfect

Reviewed on 2022-11-13 by Jason
Overall
5
Absolutely perfect location and amenities. Could not have asked for anything more.-via Airbnb

Absolutely perfect location and amenities. Could not have asked for anything more.-via Airbnb

Manager's Response

Hello Jason, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Black Mountain! Thank you for being wonderful guests :)

We had a blast

Reviewed on 2022-10-24 by Courtney
Overall
5
Gorgeous property. We had a blast. Felt very private but didn’t take long to get to town and to wineries. Wi-Fi was not available at the Farmhouse (was no biggie to us) and the walk down/up to/from the Pool house could be considered pretty steep for some folks. I would love to come back here during the summer.-via Airbnb

Gorgeous property. We had a blast. Felt very private but didn’t take long to get to town and to wineries. Wi-Fi was not available at the Farmhouse (was no biggie to us) and the walk down/up to/from the Pool house could be considered pretty steep for some folks. I would love to come back here during the summer.-via Airbnb

Manager's Response

Hello Courtney, We are so elated you enjoyed your stay at Black Mountain! The wireless router is in the Pool House and the signal can be null or weak in the Farmhouse due to the distance. We are sorry about that. Thank you for being wonderful guests :) We would love to host you again!

Friends trip to Wine Country

Reviewed on 2022-10-01 by Carl
Overall
4
We enjoyed our stay. There were 7 couples and the property spaces were nice for all to enjoy.-via VRBO

We enjoyed our stay. There were 7 couples and the property spaces were nice for all to enjoy.-via VRBO

Manager's Response

Hello Carl, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for being wonderful guests :)

would highly recommend

Reviewed on 2022-09-25 by Jefferey
Overall
5
We were a group of 13 with 2 babies and it suited us perfectly! Pool plus hot tub was amazing to relax on the large acreage. Two separate buildings for sleeping allowed the children to be separate from most of the group. Hosts were excellent at responding to messages. No complaints would highly recommend. Shops/restaurants 15 min drive. Plenty of on site parking (up a rural road). Note, limited Wi-Fi in pool house, but fine in main house.-via Airbnb

We were a group of 13 with 2 babies and it suited us perfectly! Pool plus hot tub was amazing to relax on the large acreage. Two separate buildings for sleeping allowed the children to be separate from most of the group. Hosts were excellent at responding to messages. No complaints would highly recommend. Shops/restaurants 15 min drive. Plenty of on site parking (up a rural road). Note, limited Wi-Fi in pool house, but fine in main house.-via Airbnb

Manager's Response

Hello Jefferey, We are thrilled you all enjoyed your stay at Black Mountain! Thank you for being such guest guests :)

Lots of space to gather

Reviewed on 2022-03-06 by Robert
Overall
5
Great space for a large group. Lots of space to gather as a large group or break off and enjoy the area.-via Airbnb

Great space for a large group. Lots of space to gather as a large group or break off and enjoy the area.-via Airbnb

Charming farmhouse

Reviewed on 2022-03-20 by Krishna
Overall
5
Beautiful home in the woods. Charming farmhouse and lovely pool house. Faik the care taker is very nice and friendly. We loved our stay at the place!-via VRBO

Beautiful home in the woods. Charming farmhouse and lovely pool house. Faik the care taker is very nice and friendly. We loved our stay at the place!-via VRBO

Manager's Response

Hello Krishna, Thank you for being wonderful guests! We would love to host you again and are elated you enjoyed your stay.

Amazing

Reviewed on 2022-06-20 by Kristin
Overall
5
Amazing property for fun family time together.-via Airbnb

Amazing property for fun family time together.-via Airbnb

Manager's Response

Hello Kristin, Thank you for staying with us and being such wonderful guests! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again :)

Abundance of Space

Reviewed on 2022-04-25 by Nathan
Overall
5
This property is quiet and secluded, great for a large group getaway that has an abundance of space, bedrooms, kitchens, bathrooms, etc. The pool house was our groups favorite place to hang out for the long weekend. Be advised that the pool house has 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen entertainment area. The farm house is up the hill a short 1-2min walk with all the other bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, living, rec room, etc.-via Airbnb

This property is quiet and secluded, great for a large group getaway that has an abundance of space, bedrooms, kitchens, bathrooms, etc. The pool house was our groups favorite place to hang out for the long weekend. Be advised that the pool house has 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen entertainment area. The farm house is up the hill a short 1-2min walk with all the other bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, living, rec room, etc.-via Airbnb

Great space for a large group.

Reviewed on 2022-03-24 by Robert
Overall
5
Great space for a large group. Lots of space to gather as a large group or break off and enjoy the area. -via AirBnB

Great space for a large group. Lots of space to gather as a large group or break off and enjoy the area. -via AirBnB

Embodies the concept of the stylish farmhouse

Reviewed on 2019-12-11 by Danielle
Overall
5
Black Mountain is a beautiful, quiet property that embodies the concept of the stylish farmhouse. There were 8 of us in our group and enough bedrooms and bathrooms between the Farmhouse and Pool House for everyone to have adequate space. The place was clean, well decorated and had good amenities in the kitchen along with folders with clear instructions for the property. The Pool House and Farm House both have fully equipped kitchens so it was nice to be able to make breakfast without having to trek up the driveway first. It was pretty easy to find using Google Maps and we exclusively used Uber/ Lyft for transport and were able to get rides without much difficulty. We were within a good distance of quite a few wineries which made our wine tours easy to plan and execute. We also went to Santa Rosa for dinner most nights and it usually took us about 30 minutes to get to our restaurants once the Uber/ Lyft arrived. My main wish is that the Pool House had WiFi. It's very clearly stated that only the Farm House has WiFi, so we weren't surprised, but it was still inconvenient, especially since my ATandT SIM had zero service so I couldn't even use my data down at the Pool House. It rained a lot while we were there which limited our ability to explore the property, but there were deer sightings from the Pool House which was pretty cool. Overall, I recommend this staying at this property if you're looking for somewhere in Sonoma County.via AirBnB

Black Mountain is a beautiful, quiet property that embodies the concept of the stylish farmhouse. There were 8 of us in our group and enough bedrooms and bathrooms between the Farmhouse and Pool House for everyone to have adequate space. The place was clean, well decorated and had good amenities in the kitchen along with folders with clear instructions for the property. The Pool House and Farm House both have fully equipped kitchens so it was nice to be able to make breakfast without having to trek up the driveway first. It was pretty easy to find using Google Maps and we exclusively used Uber/ Lyft for transport and were able to get rides without much difficulty. We were within a good distance of quite a few wineries which made our wine tours easy to plan and execute. We also went to Santa Rosa for dinner most nights and it usually took us about 30 minutes to get to our restaurants once the Uber/ Lyft arrived. My main wish is that the Pool House had WiFi. It's very clearly stated that only the Farm House has WiFi, so we weren't surprised, but it was still inconvenient, especially since my ATandT SIM had zero service so I couldn't even use my data down at the Pool House. It rained a lot while we were there which limited our ability to explore the property, but there were deer sightings from the Pool House which was pretty cool. Overall, I recommend this staying at this property if you're looking for somewhere in Sonoma County.via AirBnB

Enjoy your surroundings

Reviewed on 2019-11-21 by Senya
Overall
5
Great location for large groups. Plenty of beds and bathrooms for 10 women to share! Definetly recommend cooking and BBQing for large groups when you visit. Loved coffee on the 2nd story patio in the mornings. Not cell phone friendly so you can really enjoy your surroundings and company. General store nearby had just about everything and great wineries were minutes away. Definetly coming back!via AirBnB

Great location for large groups. Plenty of beds and bathrooms for 10 women to share! Definetly recommend cooking and BBQing for large groups when you visit. Loved coffee on the 2nd story patio in the mornings. Not cell phone friendly so you can really enjoy your surroundings and company. General store nearby had just about everything and great wineries were minutes away. Definetly coming back!via AirBnB

Secluded Escape

Reviewed on 2019-11-16 by Senya
Overall
5
Great location for large groups. There was enough space and bathrooms for 10 women to comfortably share. Cell service wasn't great and that made the experience so much more relaxing. Great 2nd story balacony for coffee and nature appreciation in the mornings. The communal area was ideal for bbq dinners and breakfast feasts for a lot of people. Gazing at the stars from the hot tub was incredible. Definitely coming back!

Great location for large groups. There was enough space and bathrooms for 10 women to comfortably share. Cell service wasn't great and that made the experience so much more relaxing. Great 2nd story balacony for coffee and nature appreciation in the mornings. The communal area was ideal for bbq dinners and breakfast feasts for a lot of people. Gazing at the stars from the hot tub was incredible. Definitely coming back!

Fantastic

Reviewed on 2019-09-23 by Steven Kelley
Overall
5
Our group is in the wine business which made this property the perfect location to visit the wineries we represent. We spent more time at Black Mountain than we did at wineries because we enjoyed spending time at the property so much. It has plenty of room for a large group to gather and entertain. The property is massive so you have quiet and privacy and really feel like you are getting away while still being close to everything wine country has to offer. Can't wait to to come back!

Our group is in the wine business which made this property the perfect location to visit the wineries we represent. We spent more time at Black Mountain than we did at wineries because we enjoyed spending time at the property so much. It has plenty of room for a large group to gather and entertain. The property is massive so you have quiet and privacy and really feel like you are getting away while still being close to everything wine country has to offer. Can't wait to to come back!

Magical Place

Reviewed on 2019-07-27 by Alice
Overall
5
Our Family Reunion at Black Mountain was just what we hoped for. Beautiful dwellings, property, facilities, pool, vistas, privacy, quiet. Large well equipped kitchens and a great room for communal dining. Convenient to river, groceries, many wineries, fabulous parks, redwoods, hiking trails. And the night sky—magical.Can't say enough about this very special place and can't wait to return.

Our Family Reunion at Black Mountain was just what we hoped for. Beautiful dwellings, property, facilities, pool, vistas, privacy, quiet. Large well equipped kitchens and a great room for communal dining. Convenient to river, groceries, many wineries, fabulous parks, redwoods, hiking trails. And the night sky—magical.Can't say enough about this very special place and can't wait to return.

Wonderful!

Reviewed on 2019-05-30 by Kate
Overall
5
Our stay was wonderful! The house had all of the amenities to make it a perfect weekend for a large group.

Our stay was wonderful! The house had all of the amenities to make it a perfect weekend for a large group.

Thank You!

Reviewed on 2019-05-05 by Kristin
Overall
5
Wonderful location and property with adjacent hiking trail. Very clean and well stocked with more than what is necessary to enjoy your stay. Very professional and courteous communications. Thanks!

Wonderful location and property with adjacent hiking trail. Very clean and well stocked with more than what is necessary to enjoy your stay. Very professional and courteous communications. Thanks!

great time

Reviewed on 2019-02-06 by Jule
Overall
5
We had a great time at the house. The place was perfect for our little reunion.-Airbnb Guest-

We had a great time at the house. The place was perfect for our little reunion.-Airbnb Guest-

truly felt like a retreat for our team-

Reviewed on 2019-02-06 by Julie
Overall
5
What a wonderful compound- truly felt like a retreat for our team- and the great hall was perfect for gathering for larger meals and relaxing. The views of the mountains and forest were breathtaking and the farmhouse and poolhouse had plenty of room for our group of 12.-Airbnb Guest-

What a wonderful compound- truly felt like a retreat for our team- and the great hall was perfect for gathering for larger meals and relaxing. The views of the mountains and forest were breathtaking and the farmhouse and poolhouse had plenty of room for our group of 12.-Airbnb Guest-

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Reviewed on 2019-01-22 by Paula
Overall
5
The farmhouse and pool house are spectacular and comfortable. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay.-Airbnb Guest-

The farmhouse and pool house are spectacular and comfortable. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay.-Airbnb Guest-

The home far exceeded our expectations.

Reviewed on 2018-11-05 by Phil
Overall
5
The home far exceeded our expectations. We had a large group and needed a large kitchen and many beds. This place had not only a large kitchen and plenty of beds, but a wonderful location, a beautiful pool, and every amenity that we would need. But probably the best feature was the fact that they were responsive to every question we had had both before and during our stay. Highly recommended.-Airbnb Guest-

The home far exceeded our expectations. We had a large group and needed a large kitchen and many beds. This place had not only a large kitchen and plenty of beds, but a wonderful location, a beautiful pool, and every amenity that we would need. But probably the best feature was the fact that they were responsive to every question we had had both before and during our stay. Highly recommended.-Airbnb Guest-

It's a great easy space to have lots of people.

Reviewed on 2018-10-10 by Caroline
Overall
5
We had a fun reunion at this property with four families with little kids. The pool house is where we spent all of our time, playing in the pool, in the yard, and making meals. It's a great easy space to have lots of people. It was harder to hangout at night with little kids since the kids were split, sleeping in both the upper house and pool house, and monitors can't reach that far. But other than that, it was a lovely property with lots to do very close by.-Airbnb Guest-

We had a fun reunion at this property with four families with little kids. The pool house is where we spent all of our time, playing in the pool, in the yard, and making meals. It's a great easy space to have lots of people. It was harder to hangout at night with little kids since the kids were split, sleeping in both the upper house and pool house, and monitors can't reach that far. But other than that, it was a lovely property with lots to do very close by.-Airbnb Guest-

Wonderful House in a Quiet Area

Reviewed on 2018-09-12 by Laura Sicignano
Overall
5
I was here with 14 of my friends for a girl's weekend. This was the perfect space for us. There was so much space to spread out and enjoy ourselves. The pool house was perfect for cooking and hanging out at night. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and pool and loved looking up at the stars at night since it was out in an area with lots of them visible. The property was beautiful and we loved walking around and just sitting outside enjoying the weather. I would definitely return.

I was here with 14 of my friends for a girl's weekend. This was the perfect space for us. There was so much space to spread out and enjoy ourselves. The pool house was perfect for cooking and hanging out at night. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and pool and loved looking up at the stars at night since it was out in an area with lots of them visible. The property was beautiful and we loved walking around and just sitting outside enjoying the weather. I would definitely return.

Amazing Views!

Reviewed on 2018-08-05 by Joe Bailey
Overall
5
Fantastic place with amazing views! Would love to stay here again.-Airbnb Guest-

Fantastic place with amazing views! Would love to stay here again.-Airbnb Guest-

Rustic Charm fit for Large Groups

Reviewed on 2018-05-23 by Rebecca
Overall
4
We had a large group of 12, consisting of 2 separate families (all adults), celebrating my recent engagement and my 30th birthday so the two houses were perfect for our group. This was everyones first trip to wine country and overall, we had a GREAT experience and stay at this property and by the end of the trip, everyone was sad to be leaving! Knowing all I know now, we would definitely stay here again! This rental has SO many great amenities and features- the pool house was the perfect place to gather as a group and relax and the pool and hot tub were big hits! Between the two properties, all the essentials were covered. All that said, I do want to call out some caveats for any future renters to just be more clearly aware of. Like mentioned, the drive up to the property is quite a bit more complex and off the beaten path than I realized even after reading all the info. You have to drive up a VERY narrow winding one lane dirt road, through the woods, to the very top of the mountain, and at nights, this is very dark. I would recommend a vehicle with a GPS as cell service goes out as you get closer to the property. Our winery shuttle driver was still able to find it and make it up and down ok which was great! This is also a very rustic property. Truly more cabin like. Make sure to arrive during daylight and give yourself time to get acquainted, how to control the heaters, where everything is, etc. The towels were clean but smelled a little musky so we just washed them (in unit laundry at the farmhouse!) which worked out ok. Lastly, there is NO WIFI or TV signal and little to no cell service while on the property. After restarting the modem and trying numerous attempts it still didn't work. Plan to be mainly off the grid until you get down the hill into town. Net Net- it was a BEAUTIFUL property, with amazing views, and truly a hidden gem in wine country!Manager Response:Thank you for the review!!! We are looking into why the wifi wouldn't work during your stay... It's not the fastest signal, but it's usually good for email and social media updates!~ Megan

We had a large group of 12, consisting of 2 separate families (all adults), celebrating my recent engagement and my 30th birthday so the two houses were perfect for our group. This was everyones first trip to wine country and overall, we had a GREAT experience and stay at this property and by the end of the trip, everyone was sad to be leaving! Knowing all I know now, we would definitely stay here again! This rental has SO many great amenities and features- the pool house was the perfect place to gather as a group and relax and the pool and hot tub were big hits! Between the two properties, all the essentials were covered. All that said, I do want to call out some caveats for any future renters to just be more clearly aware of. Like mentioned, the drive up to the property is quite a bit more complex and off the beaten path than I realized even after reading all the info. You have to drive up a VERY narrow winding one lane dirt road, through the woods, to the very top of the mountain, and at nights, this is very dark. I would recommend a vehicle with a GPS as cell service goes out as you get closer to the property. Our winery shuttle driver was still able to find it and make it up and down ok which was great! This is also a very rustic property. Truly more cabin like. Make sure to arrive during daylight and give yourself time to get acquainted, how to control the heaters, where everything is, etc. The towels were clean but smelled a little musky so we just washed them (in unit laundry at the farmhouse!) which worked out ok. Lastly, there is NO WIFI or TV signal and little to no cell service while on the property. After restarting the modem and trying numerous attempts it still didn't work. Plan to be mainly off the grid until you get down the hill into town. Net Net- it was a BEAUTIFUL property, with amazing views, and truly a hidden gem in wine country!Manager Response:Thank you for the review!!! We are looking into why the wifi wouldn't work during your stay... It's not the fastest signal, but it's usually good for email and social media updates!~ Megan

Perfect!

Reviewed on 2018-04-28 by Hollie
Overall
5
Our group was fifteen women on a bachelorette trip. The pool house kitchen + living room was perfect as a common area! We even had a private chef for one evening, and the pool house was ideal for socializing and dining as a big group. We didn't feel crowded despite the size of our group, and the number of bathrooms was great. The farm house has a lot of charm, with a nicely updated kitchen. The driveway from the pool house up to the farm house is short, but at a steep incline - not an issue for our group, but for a less mobile person, it would be challenging to move between houses. Cell service was non-existent in the pool house, with a weak signal in the farm house. WiFi was not strong in either house, which was sometimes inconvenient, but other times nice to not have a reason to check phones all of the time.Source: AirbnbResponse:We are really glad you had a good time at Black Mountain! =) We'd love to have you stay with us again! =) A note on the Wi-Fi: The Wi-Fi Modem is located within the Farmhouse, and the signal does not reach the pool house. If guests experience slow Wi-Fi, usually a restart of the modem does the trick. If a restart doesn't work, and the signal is still slow, guests should call the office - we are happy to check in with Comcast. :)

Our group was fifteen women on a bachelorette trip. The pool house kitchen + living room was perfect as a common area! We even had a private chef for one evening, and the pool house was ideal for socializing and dining as a big group. We didn't feel crowded despite the size of our group, and the number of bathrooms was great. The farm house has a lot of charm, with a nicely updated kitchen. The driveway from the pool house up to the farm house is short, but at a steep incline - not an issue for our group, but for a less mobile person, it would be challenging to move between houses. Cell service was non-existent in the pool house, with a weak signal in the farm house. WiFi was not strong in either house, which was sometimes inconvenient, but other times nice to not have a reason to check phones all of the time.Source: AirbnbResponse:We are really glad you had a good time at Black Mountain! =) We'd love to have you stay with us again! =) A note on the Wi-Fi: The Wi-Fi Modem is located within the Farmhouse, and the signal does not reach the pool house. If guests experience slow Wi-Fi, usually a restart of the modem does the trick. If a restart doesn't work, and the signal is still slow, guests should call the office - we are happy to check in with Comcast. :)

Perfect for a big group.

Reviewed on 2018-04-28 by Jeannine
Overall
5
The place was just perfect for a big group. The two houses each have its own unique feel and all our friends loved it. The pool area is great for a group dinner and we took advantage of it all weekend. The hosts were always so quick with any help I needed along the way too. I would definitely rent this again.Source: Airbnb

The place was just perfect for a big group. The two houses each have its own unique feel and all our friends loved it. The pool area is great for a group dinner and we took advantage of it all weekend. The hosts were always so quick with any help I needed along the way too. I would definitely rent this again.Source: Airbnb

Country Estate

Reviewed on 2018-04-28 by Brooke
Overall
5
This "country estate" is just perfect for a quiet get away where you feel like you're the only people for miles! Our group of grown ups had an amazing time venturing out for wine tasting or lunch but mostly just hung out at the pool house where there was abundant space for 16 to enjoy each other's company and eat meals together. Early mornings watching the fog in trees form the hot tub were magical! We're all looking forward to coming back in the summer with the kids to enjoy the pool and playground!Source: Airbnb

This "country estate" is just perfect for a quiet get away where you feel like you're the only people for miles! Our group of grown ups had an amazing time venturing out for wine tasting or lunch but mostly just hung out at the pool house where there was abundant space for 16 to enjoy each other's company and eat meals together. Early mornings watching the fog in trees form the hot tub were magical! We're all looking forward to coming back in the summer with the kids to enjoy the pool and playground!Source: Airbnb

Welcoming

Reviewed on 2018-04-28 by Karen
Overall
5
This property was very beautiful and clean upon arrival; a welcoming place for a large group. The poolhouse is the perfect communal space for meals, etc. and it definitely felt like a little vacation. The location is very rural and getting there was straight-forward up a steep dirt driveway, but it ended up convenient enough for our needs. I would come back and stay in this lovely home with a group again someday and recommend it to anyone!Source: Airbnb

This property was very beautiful and clean upon arrival; a welcoming place for a large group. The poolhouse is the perfect communal space for meals, etc. and it definitely felt like a little vacation. The location is very rural and getting there was straight-forward up a steep dirt driveway, but it ended up convenient enough for our needs. I would come back and stay in this lovely home with a group again someday and recommend it to anyone!Source: Airbnb

Excellent Weekend Getaway at an Incredible Property

Reviewed on 2018-04-28 by Scott B.
Overall
5
We visited Black Mountain for a weekend retreat and reunion with 14 people. Not only is it located in a beautiful and secluded area but there was plenty of room for everyone and all the amenities we could want. Each couple had their own room and there's also a bedroom with 3 single beds. The pool house was the perfect gathering area and two fully functional kitchens made dinners in the evening a real treat. We would highly recommend the property and property manager. If we're able to plan a future getaway in the Russian River area we will definitely look to stay here again!Source: VRBO

We visited Black Mountain for a weekend retreat and reunion with 14 people. Not only is it located in a beautiful and secluded area but there was plenty of room for everyone and all the amenities we could want. Each couple had their own room and there's also a bedroom with 3 single beds. The pool house was the perfect gathering area and two fully functional kitchens made dinners in the evening a real treat. We would highly recommend the property and property manager. If we're able to plan a future getaway in the Russian River area we will definitely look to stay here again!Source: VRBO

Loved It!

Reviewed on 2017-03-06 by Kaela C.
Overall
5
We absolutely loved our stay. There were 7 couples and we were all super comfortable for the entire long weekend. The property is beautiful and the decor is stylish. Both kitchens are awesome and the pool house is a great hang out spot for a big group of people. Keep in mind that the pool house is separate from the main house, by about a 3 minute walk. It didn't bother us at all but something to keep in mind. We would love to come back in the summer to enjoy the pool, hot tub and amazing BBQ area. Our group loved cooking, playing games, and just hanging out, and the property definitely made our weekend memorable. Thank you so much!

We absolutely loved our stay. There were 7 couples and we were all super comfortable for the entire long weekend. The property is beautiful and the decor is stylish. Both kitchens are awesome and the pool house is a great hang out spot for a big group of people. Keep in mind that the pool house is separate from the main house, by about a 3 minute walk. It didn't bother us at all but something to keep in mind. We would love to come back in the summer to enjoy the pool, hot tub and amazing BBQ area. Our group loved cooking, playing games, and just hanging out, and the property definitely made our weekend memorable. Thank you so much!

Excellent Weekend Getaway at an Incredible Property

Reviewed on 2016-12-03 by Scott B
Overall
5
We visited Black Mountain for a weekend retreat and reunion with 14 people. Not only is it located in a beautiful and secluded area but there was plenty of room for everyone and all the amenities we could want. Each couple had their own room and there's also a bedroom with 3 single beds. The pool house was the perfect gathering area and two fully functional kitchens made dinners in the evening a real treat. We would highly recommend the property and property manager. If we're able to plan a future getaway in the Russian River area we will definitely look to stay here again!Stayed: October 2015Submitted: October 14, 2015Source: VRBO

We visited Black Mountain for a weekend retreat and reunion with 14 people. Not only is it located in a beautiful and secluded area but there was plenty of room for everyone and all the amenities we could want. Each couple had their own room and there's also a bedroom with 3 single beds. The pool house was the perfect gathering area and two fully functional kitchens made dinners in the evening a real treat. We would highly recommend the property and property manager. If we're able to plan a future getaway in the Russian River area we will definitely look to stay here again!Stayed: October 2015Submitted: October 14, 2015Source: VRBO

Great place for family gathering!

Reviewed on 2016-12-03 by Stan T
Overall
5
We enjoyed our week at Black Mountain...especially the pool!Stayed: July 2016Submitted: August 16, 2016Source: HomeAway Family

We enjoyed our week at Black Mountain...especially the pool!Stayed: July 2016Submitted: August 16, 2016Source: HomeAway Family

Awesome rustic getaway for a group!

Reviewed on 2016-12-03 by Taylor C
Overall
5
Black Mountain is a fantastic property. Our group of 16 adults fit perfectly, and had a wonderful Labor Day weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and left a ton of fun floats for the next guests (you're welcome! ;)), cooked big meals in the pool house kitchen, star-gazed from the pool deck, and enjoyed the nearby redwood hikes and wineries. The location cannot be beat! We decided to keep all of our food and drinks in the pool house kitchen because we spent most of our time down there (rather than at the Farmhouse, which is about 50 yards uphill). It was nice to have an indoor space that was separated from the bedrooms so the the group had a place to hang out after the 10pm quiet time without disturbing anyone. We're a pretty loud group (lots of musicians and constant laughter), so we had to keep our outdoor volume in check once it got late. Despite the large acreage, the houses are close together and the groundskeeper cottage is closer to the pool than we expected, but there's a privacy wall and we didn't see him more than a few times over the weekend. A few things worth noting: - there's no TV or internet in the pool house, and it's pretty much a dead-zone for mobile service due to the metal roof. - there was an issue with ants in some of the bedrooms in both houses, so I made sure to bring that up and I'm sure it will be dealt with swiftly. - while the furnishings are nice and stylish, the property is definitely rustic -- the pictures may look like a villa in napa, but think hiking shoes over stilettos. Was the perfect mix for our adventurous group. All in all, a pretty idyllic weekend. Hope to make it back to Black Mountain someday!Stayed: September 2015Submitted: September 10, 2015Source: HomeAway Family

Black Mountain is a fantastic property. Our group of 16 adults fit perfectly, and had a wonderful Labor Day weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool and left a ton of fun floats for the next guests (you're welcome! ;)), cooked big meals in the pool house kitchen, star-gazed from the pool deck, and enjoyed the nearby redwood hikes and wineries. The location cannot be beat! We decided to keep all of our food and drinks in the pool house kitchen because we spent most of our time down there (rather than at the Farmhouse, which is about 50 yards uphill). It was nice to have an indoor space that was separated from the bedrooms so the the group had a place to hang out after the 10pm quiet time without disturbing anyone. We're a pretty loud group (lots of musicians and constant laughter), so we had to keep our outdoor volume in check once it got late. Despite the large acreage, the houses are close together and the groundskeeper cottage is closer to the pool than we expected, but there's a privacy wall and we didn't see him more than a few times over the weekend. A few things worth noting: - there's no TV or internet in the pool house, and it's pretty much a dead-zone for mobile service due to the metal roof. - there was an issue with ants in some of the bedrooms in both houses, so I made sure to bring that up and I'm sure it will be dealt with swiftly. - while the furnishings are nice and stylish, the property is definitely rustic -- the pictures may look like a villa in napa, but think hiking shoes over stilettos. Was the perfect mix for our adventurous group. All in all, a pretty idyllic weekend. Hope to make it back to Black Mountain someday!Stayed: September 2015Submitted: September 10, 2015Source: HomeAway Family

The property is great and well maintained.

Reviewed on 2016-12-03 by Fred K
Overall
4
Eight adults and eight children enjoyed the farm house, pool house and pool very much. The property has great amenities and is well maintained. The only real issue was the bees/yellow jackets around the pool. Perhaps some bee traps could have helped! Also, if live sporting events are important to guests, there's no TV service, so that could be an issue. Otherwise, all was great!Stayed: August 2016Submitted: September 12, 2016Source: VRBO

Eight adults and eight children enjoyed the farm house, pool house and pool very much. The property has great amenities and is well maintained. The only real issue was the bees/yellow jackets around the pool. Perhaps some bee traps could have helped! Also, if live sporting events are important to guests, there's no TV service, so that could be an issue. Otherwise, all was great!Stayed: August 2016Submitted: September 12, 2016Source: VRBO

×