You are here

Beds/Baths

4 BR
3.5 BA
Sleeps 9
Age 18 and under.

Park Place

Description

Get a Night Free Jan-Mar! See description for details. Park Place is a classic riverfront home, spacious and sunny. This home is ideal for families or groups of friends getting away to spend lazy, fun-filled days in our laid-back river community. This is the perfect home base to explore the amazing attractions our area offers.

At Park Place, indoors and outdoors merge. Large windows from the living areas look out over the wraparound deck and the panoramic river views beyond. There is plenty of space for lounging and dining, and a large propane barbecue. Stairs from the deck lead down to the riverfront lawn, which has a fire pit and stairs to a seasonal dock and 2 single kayaks (available mid-June to mid-September). Please note, the riverfront lawn at Park Place runs into that of its neighbor and the lower lawn decking and fire pit area spans the length of both properties.

The interior of Park Place, located entirely on the upper level, has an attractive open living space with a fully remodeled kitchen, comfortable and stylish couches, and a large dining area that can be set to accommodate 8-10 people. Doors off the living room and dining room lead to 2 bedrooms both with comfortable Queen beds) and 2 full bathrooms. From the kitchen, you'll find 2 sleeping spaces (no one has to sleep in the main living room) and the master suite. The first sleeping space has a Double bed and the second sleeping space has a Double futon. The master suite contains a bedroom and bathroom with a tub/shower combination. The suite also contains a living room with a Double sofa bed, a half bath, small kitchenette with a mini-fridge, sink and latte maker, as well as a wood stove and lovely French doors leading to the deck.

Park Place features a keyless entry system - enjoy the convenience of an express check-in directly at the home!

** Recently sold, new owners and recent upgrades

Winter & Spring Special:
3 Nights for the Price of 2! Or get an additional night free with any stay 2 nights or longer.
For stays between January 3rd 2018 - March 31st, 2018. Excludes the following dates: 2/15/18 - 2/19/18.
Must be mentioned at the time of reservation. To book online, use the Promo Code that corresponds to your arrival date
For arrival dates 1/3/18 - 2/13/18: 3FOR2JANFEB
For arrival dates 2/19/18 - 3/31/18: 3FOR2FEBMAR
For new reservations only. This special cannot be retroactively applied or combined with other offers.

Know Before You Book:

Maximum Occupancy and Quiet Hours: The maximum occupancy at Park Place is 9. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. until 7:00 a.m. Outdoor amplified sound is prohibited at any time.

Parking: On-site parking is permitted for a maximum of 4 vehicles. RVs, trailers and campers are prohibited, per the Sonoma County Vacation Rental Ordinance.

Bed Sizes: There are 5 sleeping areas total. Master Bedroom: Queen bed; Second bedroom: Queen bed; Third bedroom: Queen bed; Sleeping area 1 (no door): Queen Bed.

Heat Source: Central heat; 2 wood stoves (firewood not provided)

Location: Riverfront, walk to the town of Monte Rio.

Neighbor: One of the charms of Park Place is the expansive riverfront lawn. Part of this lower yard area, including the fire pit, is shared with the neighbors next door. There is joint access to parts of the expansive lawn from both properties and there is no fencing between the two.

Fencing: There is a high fence along the road side of the property, which provides privacy and serves as a barrier and deterrent for well-behaved dogs. There is no fencing on the riverfront lawn or between Park Place and the next door neighbors to the right. If your dog loves to wander, please consider a long leash or guide wire. We love dogs and are dog friendly but not dog proofed.

Docks & Boats: Docks and beaches are seasonal only and available from mid-June to mid-September providing the summer dams are in. Canoes, kayaks, paddleboats and rowboats that are provided in some of our homes are also available from mid-June to mid-September only. The river is usually too swift for boating in the winter and many docks and beaches are under water until late spring.

Summer Rotation Day: Friday

Sonoma County TOT #: 2120
Sonoma County Vacation Rental Permit #: ZPE11-0246

Amenities

Amenities

  • Internet Access WIFI
  • Pet Policy Dog Friendly
  • HotTub 6 person spa
  • Fireplace, Wood/Gas Woodstove
  • Deck/Patio Wrap-Around Deck
  • View River Views
  • Walk to Monte Rio
  • River Access Riverfront, Dock
  • Boats (Seasonal) 2 Single Kayaks
  • Yard Riverfront Lawn
  • BBQ Grill Propane BBQ Grill
  • Kitchen Full Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Heat Source Central Heat
  • A/C none
  • Square Footage, Est. approx. 1740
  • Televisions 2 T.V.s
  • DVD/VCR DVD/VCR
  • Stereo s/CD Stereo/CD Player
  • Game Room Items Volleyball Net
  • Laundry Facilities Washer/Dryer
  • Check-In Time 4:00 pm
  • Check-Out Time 12:00 noon
  • Express Check-In Check-in at the Home
  • Featured Amenity 1 Riverfront

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightlyNightly Min. StayWeekly
11/26/17 - 12/21/17$3202$1,920
12/22/17 - 12/28/17$4852$2,910
12/29/17 - 01/01/18$5303$2,700
01/02/18 - 02/15/18$3202$1,920
02/16/18 - 02/18/18$4853$1,920
02/19/18 - 04/30/18$3202$1,920
05/01/18 - 05/24/18$4502$2,700
05/25/18 - 05/27/18$5303$2,910
05/28/18 - 05/30/18$4503$2,700
05/31/18 - 06/06/18$4503$2,700
06/07/18 - 06/13/18$4503$2,700
06/14/18 - 06/20/18$4503$2,700
06/21/18 - 06/27/18$4507$2,700
06/28/18 - 07/04/18$4507$2,700
07/05/18 - 07/11/18$4507$2,700
07/12/18 - 07/18/18$4507$2,700
07/19/18 - 07/25/18$4507$2,700
07/26/18 - 08/01/18$4507$2,700
08/02/18 - 08/08/18$4507$2,700
08/09/18 - 08/15/18$4507$2,700
08/16/18 - 08/22/18$4507$2,700
08/23/18 - 08/30/18$4507$2,700
08/31/18 - 09/02/18$5303$2,910
09/03/18 - 09/05/18$4503$2,700
09/06/18 - 09/12/18$4503$2,700
09/13/18 - 09/19/18$4503$2,700
09/20/18 - 09/26/18$4503$2,700
09/27/18 - 10/03/18$4503$2,700
10/04/18 - 10/10/18$4502$2,700
10/11/18 - 10/15/18$4502$2,700
10/16/18 - 11/18/18$3202$1,920
11/19/18 - 11/24/18$4504$2,700
11/25/18 - 12/20/18$3202$1,920

Reviews

Leave Review
Property Reviewed: 
Park Place
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, February 6, 2017
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

6 of us stayed for 2 nights for a staff trip. The beds were comfy, and the house was well appointed. As the river was again in flood stage, we weren't able to use the yard, but the lovely wrap around deck afforded great views of the tumultuous water and the natural beauty all around. I would definitely recommend Monte Rio as a great place to sneak away to as well. The little restaurant/bar Lucy's and Bartlett's market were a short walk away, and had everything we needed. We had a wonderful stay at Park Place

  • Stayed: February 6th 2017
  • Submitted: February 9th 2017
  • Source: VRBO
Teague K.
Property Reviewed: 
Park Place
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, March 14, 2014
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

I invited 5 of my best gal pals to join me for a week in the redwoods. This home was a perfect match for our needs. Everyone had their own space, yet we all agreed the best part was talking in the evening as the fire glowed. We even found two coffee makers so we had decaf and regular brewing in the mornings! Very comfortable, clean, centrally located yet in a neighborhood setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Submitted: April 22, 2014
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway

J
Bellingham, WA
Property Reviewed: 
Park Place
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, April 30, 2010
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

The cottage is absolutely beautiful and completely relaxing... so much so that all of our grand plans to go hiking and wine tasting and horseback riding went completely by the wayside. We couldn't leave the cottage and ended up spending all day enjoying the fabulous wrap around deck, playing bocce on the lawn, hanging out in the river, and cooking great meals in the very well appointed kitchen. It was the perfect weekend with good friends and the comfort of the cottage was the perfect setting. (Oh and the bed in the master bedroom was heaven!)

  • Stayed: 4/30/2010
  • Reviewed: 7/5/2010
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Age 55+.

Sam - San Francisco
Property Reviewed: 
Park Place
Dates Stayed: 
Wednesday, April 7, 2010
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5
Stayed here a few months ago, so a little belated in my review. The house is ideally located in Monte Rio. It's walking distance to several restaurants, bars and convenience stores with a beautiful view of the river. I stayed in what's listed as the 2nd bedroom in the pictures and it was spacious and clean with nice new linens. We had a large group of friends and everyone fit comfortably. The kitchen was stocked with all cooking utensils we needed and there's laundry available as well. Overall, I would recommend this property as it had a great lounging deck, nice flat yard space for games and close location to town. We ate at Don's dogs which was walking distance from the house and it was delicious! Another recommendation as well. :)
  • Stayed: April 7 2010
  • Reviewed: July 6, 2010
  • Source: VRBO
N - San Francisco

Average Rating 4.25 of 5

"Okay Meeting spot - only 3 real bedrooms"

3 of 5

We were using the house for a board meeting and lodging for Board members over a day and a half meeting. Was a bit surprised that the photos make the space look quite a bit larger than actual size.In all, the space worked - tho we were challenged for wall space. This is actually a three bed=room house with a fourth situated as a walkthrough to the master suite.Can see how it would be a great family vacation house

-Steve T on 10/24/2016

 

"Great place for gathering of friends!"

5 of 5

We had a long weekend stay at Park Place with 8 family members and about a dozen friends dropping in over the course of the weekend. What a delightful place to get together with our old time college friends! Lots of sun and river views from the kitchen/dining areas and large deck. Sleeping was good for the eight of us with essentially a separate bed and bath for each couple and additional sleeping areas that we didnt use but would be good for separate kids or non-couples. We had a potluck with a number of folks there for an afternoon and the layout of living/dining/kitchen and decks was just perfect. The place is a cabin style and in some respects a little unusual (laundry next to Kitchen), but has traditional charm and a nice overall feel. What great memories we have of our time there!

-KrisFromSJ on 09/24/2016

 

"Some shortfalls"

3 of 5

Said "on the river" WRONG! On an inlet, swampy, mossy, yuck.Said two kayaks,only one.NO beach chairs, AND smelly dog poop in the yard. Couldn't even sit there. Not owner's fault but new house construction across the street made for CONSTANT, LOUD NOISE! Never again.

Manager Response:

Hello J M,
We're sorry you didn't love your stay at Park Place! It has been a faithfully enjoyed vacation home for year's of guests. Unfortunately one of the kayaks was stolen prior to your arrival, so there are two there now. While it's a great idea, we don't provide beach chairs as they damage pretty quickly and tend to disappear.

But, the house is most definitely on the Russian River! There's an island in the river that's fun to tromp around when the water level is down. And, like most natural bodies of water, there's algae growing in the slower moving sections and when things warm up.

I apologize for the construction noise and dog poop!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-J M on 07/06/2016

 

"Excellence is in the details and if it weren't for the location, this place would fall short."

3 of 5

It's easy to get past the funky river vibe of this house. It's on the river which is beautiful in more ways than this review will allow me to express. HOWEVER, owners please know that numerous shortcomings do not go unnoticed. In general, there is a lack of attention to detail; The washing machine sounds like a supersonic jet. It's right there in the kitchen and we had to yell to hear each other over the outrageous noise. This on the serene river? The moldy wind socks outside the master suite are disgusting. I wanted to cut them off but was warned that this might incur charges. The Vegetation Was Overgrown And intrusive. The deck and picnic tables were riddled with debris. There was a blood stain on a mattress pad. The middle bathroom shower stall has a wide black band of mold wrapping across the whole lower seam. The primary gathering space - the dining are - has poor ventilation and no fan to help. All of this notwithstanding, we enjoyed our time on the river. The place is well located no doubt and we did not let these issues detract. We share this feed back with you in the spirit of constructive criticism.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the review and the feedback - we really appreciate it!

We're working on and have already corrected several of the items you mentioned. The mildew stain in the bathroom has been remedied, but along the river we all fight moisture issues! The cleaners will keep it from cropping up again. As well, the plants along the path to the spa were due for a trim and have been cut back again. The washer is a harder one, but the owner is looking into it too. Thank you again for the detailed feedback so we can address it specifically. And we're glad you had a great time at the river!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Cynthia L on 07/23/2014

 

"Casual and relaxed fun at the river!"

3 of 5

Great backyard and a nice kitchen for making a big meal to share with friends. The dock is rather small and somewhat precarious, but just west of the house is a very cool bit of sand to set up your beach camp for the day.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/21/2013

 

"Loved this place!"

5 of 5

We stayed here with a few family friends for 2 nights and we had a blast! It is a very scenic location and lots of outdoor space for kids and adults to enjoy. Interiors also is superbly done and quite cozy. Locations is close to shops that was quite useful.Would love to be back here every season!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/06/2013

 

"Fabulous place for a gathering of dear friends"

5 of 5

The house was perfect for our gathering of 7 college friends (20+ years later). The kitchen, dining room, & living room area of the house was open so whether we were cooking, eating or lounging we could all be having lively conversations and enjoying one-another. We spent time gathered out on the deck in the sun as well. It was chilly while we were there so we didn't actually go in the river (just enjoyed the view) but I'd imagine that during a hotter time it would be fabulous to just be able to enjoy the boats and swimming as well. We were able to all get out and enjoy a day of wineries and fine dining and another day enjoyed the coast and some of the gorgeous scenery nearby. If you are an avid hot-tubber you may be disappointed in the location of the tub but we are just avid friends so that didn't really matter so much for us! I don't have any comments on the beds or sleeping areas, because we were only there when we were so exhausted we just couldn't talk to eachother anymore so I guess they were fine too! My friends came from all over the country for our long weekend together and the house was the perfect place for us, close enough to SF and the airport that it was easy to deal with a couple of friends who had to get early flights out. The rental let me share the things I love about Northern California with my best friends.

Manager Response:

Delightful!
It sounds like you had a great time and we're glad to hear it! And we're proud to be a part of your NorCal experience for the reunion! I hope you don't wait 20 years to come back!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/06/2013

 

"Great Family Vacation Rental!"

5 of 5

We stayed at Park Place with a group of families with young children. They home was perfect for us with plenty of sleeping space and casual and comfortable furnishings that were family friendly. There was a lot of outdoor space for the children to roam around. The spa was perfect for children and adults alike. We would love to return! Next time we think summer would be perfect.

Manager Response:

Hello -
Thank you for sharing your experiences! We think Park Place is a great home for friends and families alike! I hope we'll see you again soon!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/06/2012

 

"Fabulous Family Vacation Place"

5 of 5

We had a huge family gathering to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary.Not only were there plenty of beds/pull down sofa's and room for everyone to be comfortable. The kitchen is stacked with tons of dishes/utensils and the house had plenty of games to keep the little ones occupied.The jaccuzi is do die for and the view from the house is spectacular.The only thing we wished was different is the quality of the kayak's available with the house, they are not the most ergonomic, so it was a pain kayaking in them. The staff are super friendly and nice and all is all we had a great time.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing a review! We're glad you had such a great time, and we'll forward your kayak comment to the owners... We hope to see you again soon!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/20/2012

 

"A lovely, quirky house"

4 of 5

We had a dozen long-time friends share this house. We enjoyed it quite a bit -- the kayaks, the grill, the fruit (blackberry bushes, plum tree, peach tree, cherry tree), the hot tub (of course), good parking, easy access to the main roads, easy access to other hotel/rental spaces (with yet more friends).The house has a funny loop-the-loop layout, which takes some getting used to, and there are a lot of stairs, which is not so good if you can't handle stairs so well.Overall, we were initially a bit nervous but the place proved to be very flexible and useful and comfortable.

Manager Response:

Hi!
Thank you for sharing a review of Park Place - the layout is a bit unusual as the house was a duplex at one time, long, long ago. But it's a great spot for group of friends or families to gather, as you pointed out! Once inside the house there are just a couple one step up and down spots. The majority of the stairs are outside with multiple ways to get to the hot tub and lower yard. Patios connect the exterior doors so you can get from one room to another without interrupting folks as well.

The fruit trees are a great treat if you are here in season - tasty too! And you can't beat the paddling and hot tub!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/08/2012

 

"Lovely home!"

5 of 5

We had a ladies weekend and went great! The dining area was open to the kitchen and overlooked the deck. We spend hours relaxing and eating.I would stay there again!

Manager Response:

Hello & Thank You!
Park Place is an awesome spot to enjoy the river and cook and enjoy a bottle of wine with friends or family...
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Jill on 02/15/2012

 

"Wonderful ladies weekendl"

5 of 5

Park Place was everything and more. Twelve ladies and three days of fun to celebrate a birthday. We had plenty of room and the kitchen was fully equipped. We lounged down on the lawn area, played bocce, floated on the river, and had a fire in the fire pit in the the evening. We even took a limo to the wine country one day. We would all go back and we all highly recommend Park Place. The only problem we had was trying to turn on the porch lights. We thought they were on sensors, but they never came on and we couldn't find a switch. Nothing to complain about. And we tried to clean up all the feathers from our boas. Ha, thank you.

Manager Response:

Hello!
We knew you had a great time when the cleaners vacuumed up feathers from the boas... We're glad you enjoyed it!

There is a trick to the lights on the porch and the labels must have come off (we'll put new ones up). There's a tucked away switch that must be on first, then the other switch works. It's hard to describe, but it's towards the ceiling at the first column in the living room/dining room area. Anyways, we'll check the labels the next time the house is open. Thanks for letting us know! We like getting little things like this fixed as soon as possible.
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/15/2012

 

"A relaxing river trip."

5 of 5

Park Place was a nice and spacious house. We really enjoyed the surrounding beauty. A cafe/ bakerysbout 2 miles north was outstanding!

Manager Response:

Hi!
We're so glad you enjoyed Park Place!
:)

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/28/2011

 

"Might be right for you"

3 of 5

My colleages and I stayed here for a business retreat. The place was well appointed and there was good privacy between the bedrooms. Having wifi was great and the deck is very peaceful. The in the water kayacks were a nice touch. The hot tub is huge. The house was clean but the deck and windows were quite dusty. I am a fan of full disclosure instead of strategic photos, so it would have been nice to know that the lot is shared with another house, which has a Green Tortise type bus parked out front (though we never heard the neighbors). The firepit seems to be shared too. It also would have been good to know that the property is not directly on the river but on a small river cul de sac so to speak.Overall it was a nice place to stay.

Manager Response:

Hi!
Thank you for sharing your review! A couple notes...

Park Place is on the Russian River. There isn't a cul de sac or smaller river here... It is the river.

The property description does list the fire pit as a shared amenity with the neighboring property and we've tried to photograph the open yard as clearly as possible... It's hard to show without a super-fancy wide-angle lens...

But, on a very exciting note - the green bus was a temporary fixture and is now gone! The neighbors had some exciting guests for a bit but the property is now for sale and we hope for fantastic new neighbors or an additional vacation rental property so the yards really can be shared between the two houses and families or friends that rent together!

I hope you can visit again and continue to enjoy the property!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/14/2011

 

"Surprise Birthday Party"

4 of 5

Everything was well kept and maintained in the house. The location is wonderful. Check-in and support is very good and easy.Only a few small things would make it better--the knives in the kitchen are very dull, making cooking hard, and they do not provide any firewood or kindling for the wood burning stoves. While the stores sell wood, you have to buy so much--it would be nice if they provided a little.Since it is an older house that has been added onto many times, the layout is a bit odd--you have to walk through some bedrooms to get to sections of the house.

Manager Response:

Hi!

Thanks for the review! I'm certainly happy to pass along your note about the knives to the owner... Dull knives are very fix-able! But we probably won't start providing firewood anytime soon - it has a horrible habit of walking away from houses. But we have a couple recommendations for where to get wood - in not huge amounts.

And you are so right about the history of the house... It has been added to over the years and some of the original porches were enclosed to make rooms many years ago. The current owners have done a fantastic job of remodeling and making everything cohesive. We find it helps to let folks know about the walking through spaces between bedrooms, and that you can walk around on the porches as well.

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Scott on 05/22/2011

 

"Relaxing, inspiring, fun, unique"

5 of 5

I came to the house with 10 women who I'd never met (except for one) to have a ladies weekend before my best friend's wedding (the one I knew). The house was beautiful and quirky and had all the comforts we needed - and nothing over the top, so we could just relax and enjoy the region and each others' company. It was clean and comfortable and perfect if you like to eat and drink and be merry with a big group of friends. By the end of the weekend we were all great friends! I give the terrific house some credit.

Manager Response:

Fantastic!

Thank you for sharing your review with future renters! We think Park Place is pretty great ourselves... Great in any season or weather!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Kiryn on 05/20/2011

 

"Clean and Warm"

4 of 5

We stayed there with 13 women, it was the best weekend ever!! The check in was easy and quick. The river was flooded so no swimming but the hot tub was huge and could fit all us girls in the same time. There were more than enough beds and the heater worked great. I would totally recommend this house to anyone.

Manager Response:

Yeah!

Finally a great review for the heater! We're so glad you enjoyed Park Place and had fun too... Come back again when the swimming is good!
:)

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Side note- the house just got a brand new heater. The previous heater was giving us some trouble, so we are happy to see that the new heater more than does the trick! -Ellen

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/28/2011

 

"Wonderful weekend with family and friends"

5 of 5

I celebrated my 30th birthday with family and friends (including a baby and one well behaved dog) at Park Place this past February. It was the perfect long weekend. The house was lovely, relaxing, tastefully decorated, and had all the amenities we needed (including wifi!). It was perfect for a larger group, as there was at the least, a semi-private place for everyone to sleep. We cooked meals, used the bbq, and the hot tub was large enough to fit several people. During the day we walked down to the beaches by town (just a 10 minute walk from the house), where we were also able to purchase last minute groceries and firewood as well. We had a fire in the fire pit down in the yard one night. During the winter, the yard is a bit wet, though the fire pit was still available for our use and enjoyable. There are some spare items from the neighbor's yard that could be cleaned up to make the year look nicer, however. We had a brief problem with the heating in the house, however, the owner was very fast to resolve the issue and we were back in business in no time. Overall, I'd definitely come back to Park Place and would love to spend a week here during the summer time as well! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Manager Response:

Hello!

I'm so glad you left a review for folks to read... Park Place is a fantastic home for family and friend gatherings! And you mentioned the heater issue. I'm very happy to say that all the past heater issues are resolved with a new (easy to use) thermostat, improved (and more) ducting and additional mechanical work on the heater unit. Just in time for spring - the heating is now fantastic!

As to the neighbor... It's a work in progress. The owners of Park Place hope to purchase that house too! But the neighbors are nice, if not meticulously tidy.

I hope we'll see you again soon!
:)

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/18/2011

 

"Fun but chilly. It was January."

4 of 5

I loved the house. It was hard to find the lights and to turn on the heat, but aside from that it was great.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share. We did have an extra chilly January this year! And the owners of Park Place are (this week, actually) having additional ducting added to the heater/vents. It should significantly decrease the amount of time needed to heat the house. But I still love the wood burning stoves for heat - nice and dry on rainy and foggy days.

Some of the light switches are in quirky places... Not terrible surprising considering the historical context of the home. Improved electrical service happened in the last 20 years and then again when the current owners remodeled. We've also labeled most of the light switch plates and written notes about where to find some of them in the home binder. It helps!

Thank you, again,
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/16/2011

 

"Family get together"

5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at this house. We know Monte Rio very well and were delighted at the care taken to redo this house. It was well equiped, warm, well stocked and we will be back for another stay in the summer time.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/18/2010

 

"beautiful house but..."

3 of 5

This house is beautiful, roomy and comfortably furnished with a well stocked kitchen. The redwoods, view and location are wonderful. If going for several days it would be worth it, but for just a weekend, the check-in/out times & duties make it too short. To have to strip beds, do laundry and and take out the trash (to the curb if it's trash night) seems like paying to housesit. Another note is that the hot tub is loud and you are not allowed to turn it off. It poured rain while we were there which drowned the noise of the hot tub otherwise there would have been no sleep in the two rooms above the tub. Bring your own soap, dish sponge and firewood.

Manager Response:

Hello,

All of our homes sleeping 12 or more people have a check out at 11 am and all our homes have a check in at 4 pm, unless we are able to accommodate an earlier arrival. When one guest checks out in the morning and the next that afternoon, the cleaners need as much time as possible to maintain high standards... And we want to keep the cleaning cost as low as possible for guests as well. So we ask you to strip the beds and start a load of towels, and, yes, take the trash to the curb on trash day. This is just one of those differences between hotels and vacation homes... And are pretty standard across most vacation homes.

As for the noisy hot tub, this is news... I'll ask our spa guy to check it out. You can turn the jets off, but the hot tub does need to remain on for the filters to work.

Soap, dish sponges and firewood are all provided at this home through the winter. In the fairer months, firewood is not provided. And if you run out of the usual supplies, call the office and you can come by for more.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you can stay longer next time!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/16/2010

 

"We loved it!"

5 of 5

What a great house! There was ample room for us and we really appreciated the big dining table indoors and out on the deck for family dinners. The kitchen has everything you need. There are so many bathrooms which helps with a big group. Everything was very comfortable and the views are fantastic- from inside the house and from the decks. River access and a nice lawn to run around on were also big pluses. And we really appreciated the hot tub.

Manager Response:

It's great to hear such glowing feedback!
Ellen DeProto ~ Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/20/2010

 

"A nice house with a few rough spots."

3 of 5

We really enjoyed this older riverfront home and the provided kayacs. Pleanty of room for 4 adults and 4 kids. The centrally located older washer and dryer were very noisy. There were no operating instructions for the hot-tub, but my understanding is that the operating panel was new and instructions would be provided in the future. The hot-tub has no view, it is located on the non-river side of the house under the redwood trees.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thanks for the feedback! We've mentioned the washer and drier to the owners, but there's not a good alternate location! Similarly, there's no safe location for the hot tub on the river side of the house. There are strict regulations about where appliances (yes, that includes hot tubs) in flood zones... And the Russian River does flood to the base of most houses in that area.

The hot tub does now have instructions in the Home Binder and we are thrilled to have the newer, easier to use panel!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-California Vacationer on 08/17/2010

 

"Friends Bonding"

5 of 5

A group of friends, including myself, decided that it's been a while since we have all hung out as a group. We felt that Russian River would be the best place to do so. So after reviewing a few locations, we found the perfect house to rent with Russian River Vacation Homes in Monte Rio... the house was called Park Place. This was the perfect house for entertainment, for it was large, spacious, both in and out.. the deck was perfect for Bbq-ing, and the interior was great for hanging out. Seeing this place in person really gave me the true appreciation, for the pictures on the site didn't do it any justice. I fully reccomend this for anyone looking for a fun, mellow place to hang out, and Russian River Vacation Homes staff was very helpful and friendly.

Manager Response:

Dear Motz,

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Ellen DeProto ~ Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/31/2010

 

"Good place for a family, not so much for a group of couples"

3 of 5

This place was ideally located, and a nice enough place to stay. There was some glitches - it's a new rental and things like outside lights didn't all quite work right - but overall a fine place. When the hot tub didn't work the owner came out immediately which was very nice. There was also apparently a feud with a neighbor which had resulted in the boat dock being destroyed (and therefore no boats available to us) but we avoided him fine. A bit awkward is that quite a few of the rooms are reached by going through other rooms unless you go outside and around, which isn't practical when coming from the common rooms. Good thing we were all friendly! Nice kitchen, nice patio, but no way can you seat 13 at the inside dining room table as is supposed to be the case for a 13-bed house (table is not big enough and there are only 7 chairs). But plenty of room on the patio so we made do. I would probably choose a different place for the next trip, but I can't say this place is bad, just a bit awkward. Would be a great choice for a large family (we were a number of couples and the bedrooms aren't quite private enough for comfort).

Manager Response:

Dear Tere,

Thank you for being understanding about the new rental glitches that you experienced during your stay. The kinks have been all ironed out and Park Place is quickly becoming a favorite rental among our guests! I do want to clarify a couple of things that you mentioned above. First, the reason the kayaks were not available to you is that boats at all of our rentals are available mid-June to mid-September, provided that the water conditions are suitable for boating. Since we had rain so late in the year this year, no rentals had boats available the first weekend of June. Also, the indoor dining room is set up to seat 13. You do need to utilize the second dining table (located next to the window in the dining room), which can be lined up against the main table so everyone can dine together. Also, there are 13 dining chairs. So to not crowd the dining area, some of the chairs are dispersed though the home and need to be gathered if you are seating a large group. We explain all this in the home info binder. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
Ellen DeProto ~ Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/20/2010

 

Location