You are here

The Knot Hole

Description

Imagine watching wildlife from every room of the house! The Knot Hole is a retreat unto itself, featuring 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The home is nestled against a fern laden hillside and surrounded by a tall privacy fence. Enjoy life amongst towering redwoods, just 120 yards away from your own access to the crystal clear waters of East Austin Creek. Glimpse otters as they swim upstream or watch the salmon spawn! This year-round creek is home to a plethora of wildlife, including giant blue heron, egrets, wild turkeys, otters and deer.

Outside, you'll find multiple sitting areas on the property. The lower deck features an outdoor sunken claw foot bathtub. The hot tub sits on its own private deck and is shaded by an umbrella (imagine soaking in the hot tub even in the misty rain). The middle deck features an outdoor dining set with views of the Austin Creek. Besides these sitting areas, The Knot Hole also offers 2 more sitting areas alongside the creek. A swimming hole is located about 100 feet down the road.

Inside this home, Persian rugs complement the 100-year-old knotty pine floors that grace the main living areas. Enjoy your morning coffee at the living room table while you watch hummingbirds flash their iridescent colors. Or enjoy the morning from the privacy of the hot tub while you listen to the waters of East Austin Creek. The fully equipped kitchen offers granite counters and stainless steel appliances. The comfortable furnishings and ambiance assure a relaxing stay. The master bedroom is equipped with a writing nook, antique wood stove, picture window, down comforters and down pillows. The master bathroom also features mosaics and multiple windows that allow you to view the birds and ferns on the hillside even while showering. The comfortable cozy furnishings, antiques and ambiance assure a relaxing stay. The second bedroom and second mosaic-tiled bathroom are accessible by an exterior entrance.

This piece of paradise is also dog friendly, as it's well-fenced and allows lots of safe areas to relax with your dog. (Please note that the steep hillside behind the house is not fenced; skilled and determined canine climbers can get out.)

Have kids who want to explore creeks, catch frogs and splash in puddles? You can find it all at The Knot Hole, for your kids or for your inner child.

Close to the ocean, wineries, golf and Guerneville, The Knot Hole provides the perfect base camp to enjoy your vacation. According to previous guests, it's just what the doctor ordered!

Know Before You Book:

Maximum Occupancy and Quiet Hours: The maximum occupancy at The Knot Hole is 6. Quiet hours are from 10:00 p.m. until 7:00 a.m. Outdoor amplified sound is prohibited at any time.

Parking: There is designated parking for a maximum of 2 vehicles. RVs, trailers and campers are prohibited, per the Sonoma County Vacation Rental Ordinance.

Bed Sizes: Master bedroom: Queen bed, Second bedroom: Queen bed, Living room: Double sofa bed

Heat Source: Central gas heat; woodstove (no firewood or kindling provided).

Sonoma County TOT Number:2115
Sonoma County Vacation Rental Permit ZPE11-0189

Reviews

Leave Review
Property Reviewed: 
The Knot Hole
Dates Stayed: 
Monday, December 26, 2016
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

We really enjoyed our stay at this unique and nature-filled property. The house was super cozy in the freezing cold weather. We played games, soaked, napped, read, and explored the creek. It's a small place for 6 people but still do-able, as long as everyone gets along well.

Meno
Petaluma, CA
Property Reviewed: 
The Knot Hole
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, July 22, 2016
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

This place was an absolute gem. Bedding was inviting and comfortable, setting extremely quiet and lush. Felt like a hobbit in a remote forest setting. Spent a lot of time relaxing by the creek and all of our dinners were prepared and eaten onsite. The cutest bakery with superb pastries was less than a mile away in Cazadero and Guernville and Jenner were both 20 minutes away with a beautiful ride in the redwoods to boot. When we come back to the Russian River valley, we will be staying there again.

    • Stayed: July 2016
    • Submitted: August 3, 2016
    • Source: VRBO
James P
Property Reviewed: 
The Knot Hole
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, February 13, 2015
Rating: 
4
Property Rating: 
4
Experience Rating: 
4
Value Rating: 
4

The Knot Hole is a neat and unique home full of surprises. It's perfect for a relaxing weekend, to enjoy a bottle of wine on one of its three (or where there four?) decks, to read a good book or explore the nearby trails and coast. One minor challenge is to find the right light switch for the right light - it does get very dark at night under the redwood trees - and fortunately the house provides numerous flashlights to find your way.

  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Submitted: March 19, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Markus
Modesto, CA
Property Reviewed: 
The Knot Hole
Dates Stayed: 
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

We had a rough start to our stay at the Knot Hole--husband fell through the glass table in the living room and had to be ambulance-d to the ER! Thank you to the stellar staff at Russian River Vacation Homes and the owner of the property for answering our call for help and getting a cleaning crew out while we were at the ER to clean up the glass and have the place ready for when we returned later that night. But, when we knew that this accident was only going to be a small hiccup in the start of our vacation, we were able to really enjoy ourselves staying at the Knot Hole! The Knot Hole was a great place to stay! The multiple decks, the stellar views, and the peace and quiet were exactly what we were looking for. The beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen did not lack for anything we needed to make many scrumptious home cooked meals that we ate on one of the two decks overlooking Austin Creek in stands of Redwood trees. It was a real bonus to have a dishwasher and a laundry washer and dryer--made for quick kitchen clean up and dry beach towels after the River. We would love to stay here again and hope to in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted: March 19, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

way

Kelly M
Property Reviewed: 
The Knot Hole
Dates Stayed: 
Friday, July 4, 2014
Rating: 
5
Property Rating: 
5
Experience Rating: 
5
Value Rating: 
5

What a charming home this is...So much thought, care, and heart has been put into it...We especially loved the yards, so beautifully thought out with the lovely Japanese Maples and planted and potted plants. The beds are very, very comfortable, the kitchen was quite functional, and the Wi-fi worked just fine with our lap-top and I-pad. One of our dogs...a little 12 lb. terrier mix...did manage to escape under or between the slats of the back-yard deck, and went exploring the very steep hillside behind the house. But be assured that any larger dog will be very secure in this yard, and most small dogs are not as adventuresome as ours is. Even though we live in and are from Sonoma County, the Russian River area, and especially Cazadero ,are our favorite spots to spend our vacations. This is a house we surely want to return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted: March 19, 2015
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Romantic getaway

Jane
Sonoma, CA

Average Rating 4.5 of 5

"Wonderful Getaway"

5 of 5

We've rented the Knot Hole twice now and plan on coming back. Both times were wonderful.It is on a quiet side road off the noisy main road nestled in the redwoods-very rustic but has all the conveniences you need for a carefree vacation. We love the easy creek access across the road directly in front of the cabin. It's wonderful to be able to bring our dogs with us--they seem at ease here as well-no noisy neighbors and a lovely fenced yard. Having breakfast on the upper deck in the morning is a great start to the day. It has a separate upstairs bedroom and bathroom which our adult son appreciated. Bottle of champagne on arrival and games, puzzles, BBQ, hot tub, free WiFi and a land line were great. We'll be back!

-59anna2014 on 08/23/2016

 

"Awful experience."

1 of 5

I went with my two year old and 2 dogs on the recommendation of the realty company who manages this spot. Was looking for a relaxing, peaceful, woodland retreat with all advertised amenities for my first "vacation" since 2008. Would have been great. However when we arrived- no cable, phone or internet due to the owner forgot to pay the bill. A $350 payment was required to restore service per the phone recording I got from Comcast when I went to make an outbound call to let my family know I made it safely. Since I didn't get cell service- I had to pack up and drive 5-10 miles down the road just to get coverage to call someone for help. I spoke to the owner Saturday night who said he would take care of it. Waited and waited- still no service. Had to make a second trip down the road and another several phone calls to get it restored the following day. Why does one need cable, phone and internet in the middle of the woods on vacation you ask? Me. I do. You try being a single parent holed up in the middle of nowhere with a toddler and no ability to make a call or put on cartoons while you shower or cook dinner. Kind of a bummer. Discovered the "swimming hole" that was advertised as part of the trip. WOO HOO! Was great fun with my baby in her float playing ball with the dogs until I got screamed at by a crazy neighbor that told me I was trespassing on private property and that I had to leave. After she screamed at me 5 times and threatened to call the cops on me after I repeatedly told her I was a paying renter and was allowed access- I left so as to avoid a literal brawl in front of my small child. I called both the owner and the realtor to make sure I wasn't breaking any rules (I wasn't) and no one even knew who she was- though she claimed to be a resident. After I saw the crazy neighbors van from the front window creep up towards my rental and then swiftly reverse backwards as soon as I peeked my head out the window- I promptly packed up and left a day early for fear my car would be vandalized or something iffy like that. Cant chance it with a baby in tow. I'm not going to stay in a place where I don't feel safe. Kitchen was super small. Second bedroom is completely separate from the main house up a steep flight of stairs so I could not even use it. The hot tub is a "soft tub" with barely any jets, no seats, and is covered by an umbrella that you aren't allowed to move- so you cant see the stars. The rooftop deck was locked up and marked as "do not use". After all of that- I was offered a refund of $75 for the day I spent with no services. Compared to the over a grand I paid to stay there for a measly 4 nights- I'd say that was a slap in the face. I even emailed the realtor and begged her to reconsider and didn't even get a response. I live nearby and will not be recommending this to any of my friends. What a joke. I'm actually pretty upset at the whole experience and how I was brushed off and didn't even get a response from the realtor. The only thing they told me was that they were shocked and that they would work with the owner and the neighbor to make sure this doesn't happen to the next guest. But it happened to me- and what about that? Ridiculous.

Manager Response:

We talked with this guests quite a bit during and after her stay and it was a very strange and awkward situation.

The neighbor that yelled at the guest was a monthly renter up the street who no longer lives in the area. This was the first and only time we heard about this neighbor. We are horribly sorry about how our guest was treated by a neighbor that was clearly in the wrong. The creek is available to everyone and is not private in any way. Sadly, neighbors are something we have very little control over. And the unpleasant person in this situation rented a house in the neighborhood for just a short period of time. Another neighbor has confirmed she is moved out. We're grateful to the in-between neighbor for stepping in and helping with the situation and getting us additional information.

It's true the upper deck has been locked off while awaiting a full roof replacement below the deck and new deck surface on top. Unfortunately, until the work is completed we can't allow guests on the deck for safety reasons. The web description was updated with this information. Similarly, the hot tub is, and always has been, listed as a soft tub on our website so guests are aware of what to expect. The umbrella above the hot tub, is as shown in the photos and protects the tub from redwood and other tree sap, pollen and stains. Having been in the tub myself, I think it's a beautiful place to enjoy the property and appreciated not having redwood pine cones and other debris landing on me while soaking. We're sorry this is not what the guest expected and are happy to talk with future guests about the property and what to expect when they rent the house. I believe it is a beautiful location along East Austin Creek with otters, woodland ducks, wild grapes and blackberries, crawfish and delightful creek explorations! My dog and I love walking the creek bed and wading through the creek, pouncing at the tadpoles and trying to carry ALL the new sticks back to the car.

The guest was given a partial refund and, despite the review, we talked with her several times. The Comcast issue was a billing error and was resolved within 24 hours once we knew about it.

I hope future guests will take a few minutes to read other reviews for the property and make a balanced decision.

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Kristen J on 08/03/2015

 

"Great Little Cabin in the Russian River Area"

5 of 5

Really enjoyed my time with my family at the Knot Hole. The cabin is very well appointed and located on a quiet street in Cazadero amongst the redwoods. The location is between Sebastapol and Bodega Bay / Jenner area. Plenty of great wineries in the Russian River area, including Joseph Phelps (awesome cabs), Gary Farrell (pinots, chardonnay), and Iron Horse (sparkling wines of all kinds). Fantastic seafood and coastal views in Bodega Bay, and two great breakfast places in Jenner (Cafe Aquatica) and closer to the cabin in Cazadero (weekends only). Some interesting Unabomber / Deliverance ambiance as you walk further up the road away from the bridge ....

Manager Response:

Hi!
Thanks for the review and 5 star rating! The Knot Hole is at a delightful spot along East Austin Creek where otters play and you can hang out with woodland ducks, Mallards, crawfish and hummingbirds. Walking up and down the creek is one of my favorite things to do with the dog and the neighborhood is an eclectic mix of upscale houses behind gates, rustic cottages and everyday dwellings. I'm glad you had a chance to explore and imagine!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-wandererredeemer on 07/18/2015

 

"charming home"

5 of 5

What a charming home this is...So much thought,care,and heart has been put into it...We especially loved the yards, so beautifully thought out with the lovely Japanese Maples and planted and potted plants.The beds are very,very comfortable, the kitchen was quite functional, and the Wi-fi worked just fine with our lap-top and I-pad.One of our dogs...a little 12 lb. terrier mix...did manage to escape under or between the slats of the back-yard deck, and went exploring the very steep hillside behind the house. But be assured that any larger dog will be very secure in this yard, and most small dogs are not as adventuresome as ours is.Even though we live in and are from Sonoma County ,the Russian River area,and especially Cazadero ,are our favorite spots to spend our vacations. This is a house we surely want to return to.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/17/2013

 

"Charming & cozy home"

4 of 5

The Knot Hole is a neat and unique home full of surprises. It's perfect for a relaxing weekend, to enjoy a bottle of wine on one of its three (or where there four?) decks, to read a good book or explore the nearby trails and coast. One minor challenge is to find the right light switch for the right light - it does get very dark at night under the redwood trees - and fortunately the house provides numerous flashlights to find your way.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/20/2013

 

"perfect serenity right when we needed it"

5 of 5

we arrived after dark and were pleasantly surprised to find the house very easily despite the twists and turns and the dark dirt road leading to the knot hole. we were enthralled with everything about the property and everything lived up to the descriptions online. the master bedroom was huge, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the fireplace in the bedroom was very easy to use and fantastic. the "soft tub" was very clean and great at night while stargazing, which was perfect because it was literally freezing outside. the kitchen had everything we needed and we used it to its full extent. the upper balcony's were great for morning coffee as were the chairs set up on the creek bed across the street. we stayed at the knot hole for our honeymoon we were very impressed with the quiet comfort of the property and we can't wait to come back

Manager Response:

Congrats on your recent wedding!
We are so proud that you spent it with us and at The Knot Hole - it's a perfect place to get away from the rest of the world. And thank yo for sharing a review with future guests! We can't wait to see you again - maybe for an anniversary or two.

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-andrew and katie on 06/09/2013

 

"Beautifully decorated, cozy home"

4 of 5

The house is perfect for one or two couples, the upstairs bedroom is completely separate and there are even separate decks if you don't like the people you're travelling with. The yard is small, but completely enclosed, so even our more adventurous dog wasn't able to escape. There are nice views of the creek from the decks and a bunch of bird feeders in the back that attracted some very fearless hummingbirds. The only downsides are that parking is a little tight and right on the edge of the road, but it's not a heavily travelled road so it wasn't that big of a deal, and the condition of the "hot tub". It's actually a soft tub and it was kind of old and crusty looking, which was surprising given how nice the rest of the house is. Also, the check-in process is kind of annoying because you have to drive to the rental office, pick up the key, then drive another 20-30 minutes out to the house. All the other places I've rented from leave the key at the house in a lock box.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the review! We love the fearless hummingbirds! And we love The Knot Hole!

And we appreciate your feedback about the key process and the soft tub. We even had a locksmith out at the house to install the new keyless entry system we're starting to use when we discovered that the beautiful front door at the house can't take that type of lock. So, we're thinking ahead to other possible solutions. The soft tub is photographed and mentioned on the website as a "soft tub." And in this location a soft tub is advantageous in that it can be disassembled and taken to higher ground if the creek overflows seriously enough to warrant it. It is serviced between each guest and is fully functioning. I hope this helps explain things!

Thank you again,
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-stanleystu on 06/07/2013

 

"Almost perfect"

4 of 5

I would give this property an excellent rate if the owner would remove some of the items that are jam packed in it. There was not a single spot in the whole house that did not have a nice knack on, in it or over it. Other than that it was an amazing house.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for sharing a review!!! We love seeing your dog in the creek and that you had a great time. We'll pass along your comment to the owner about the "fullness" and hope you'll visit us again soon!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Sullivan Family on 12/13/2012

 

"The Knothole"

4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Knothole. It was very cozy, the house stayed warm, the redwoods were a gorgeous backdrop and the sound of the river close by made it all very relaxing. A couple things I did note - we arrived at night and it wouldve been nice if there were some outdoor lighting to guide us up the pathway to the house as it was pitch dark and raining by 5:30pm. While i loved looking out onto the mossy hillside from the masterbedroom, it wouldve been nice to have some kind of drapery to close at night, it made me feel very exposed having the floor to ceiling windows all around. Overall, the house smelled very musty. I couldnt quite pinpoint where it was coming from, maybe the couch in the living room? The couch itself was very uncomfortable to sleep on, and just sitting on it, the smell of mildew of very strong. Also, i was disappointed the outdoor bathtub that looked so inviting in the pictures was unusable due to alot of rusty patches in it. Again, our stay was amazing and we will most likely rent again in this lovely are, but i doubt we would rent this property again mostly due to the mildew smell.

Manager Response:

Hello -
Thank you for writing a review - we'll call the owner and cleaner to address the musty smell right away! Living under the redwoods, there is always some earthiness, but mildewy smells are not okay. And we'll share your comments about the drapes too. Just to clarify, the Knot Hole is fully fenced and the back of the property is straight up a hill, so no one can look in from outside.

Something exciting about this property is the brand new mattresses this year. Over the summer, guests let us know the mattresses on the beds needed to be replaced, but the sofa was comfy... So the beds were updated.

I hope you'll stay with us again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/06/2012

 

"One Wonderful Place."

5 of 5

This home is nestled in the redwoods and extremely private. So quiet you would think you lost your hearing! Located on a single 1 lane dead end road it juts next to the creek and is surrounded by all types of beautiful flora in summer. The neighbors ( few and far between ) are friendly and down to earth. The home itself is creative in artwork, cozy but tons of room for 4 people and has a lot of neat nooks and crannies over 2 floors. We loved it..you will too.

Manager Response:

Hello -
Thank you for sharing a review of The Knot Hole! It's all so true! And, sometimes, hard to describe to folks all the great spots to curl up with a book, cup of tea or a loved one!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Knots Hole Fans on 09/20/2012

 

"A little slice of serenity"

5 of 5

We had a rough start to our stay at the Knot Hole--husband fell through the glass table in the living room and had to be ambulanced to the ER! Thank you to the stellar staff at Russian River Vacation Homes and the owner of the property for answering our call for help and getting a cleaning crew out while we were at the ER to clean up the glass and have the place ready for when we returned later that night.But, when we knew that this accident was only going to be a small hiccup in the start of our vacation, we were able to really enjoy ourselves staying at the Knot Hole! The Knot Hole was a great place to stay! The multiple decks, the stellar views, and the peace and quiet were exactly what we were looking for. The beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen did not lack for anything we needed to make many scrumptious home cooked meals that we ate on one of the two decks overlooking austin Creek in stands of Redwood trees. It was a real bonus to have a dishwasher and a laundry washer and dryer--made for quick kitchen clean up and dry beach towels after the River.We would love to stay here again and hope to in the future.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the lovely review! We are always ready to help - and are so glad that everyone was okay after the "incident" with the table! We think The Knot Hole is a bit of pure peace on earth!

Can't wait to see you again!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Kurt & Kelly Meyer on 09/10/2012

 

"Wonderful home,wonderful place,wonderful area!"

5 of 5

Immaculate and incredibly unique house located in a little slice of Heaven...Would highly recommend!!

Manager Response:

Thank you!
:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-Patrick Neely on 09/09/2012

 

"Quiet & Relaxing, lovely home across the road from austin Creek"

4 of 5

We had a lovely time at The Knot Hole! It was a lovely and well cared for home that we truly enjoyed. The decor and furnishings were nice, not your usual "retired extra furniture" rental!I will say that we were under the impression that the home had private access to the creek from the backyard, but this is not the case. Access is to a public area of the creek, and across the road. This wouldn't have been a big deal, but we had hoped for a place where the kids could play and we could view them from home (we don't have very young kids, but still didn't feel comfortable with them across the road where we couldn't see them).Our only complaint was the sewage smell when the downstairs toilet was flushed! It was really awful and we wanted to keep the doors closed all the time, but then couldn't enjoy the deck.Overall, a really nice rental that we would recommend! Russian River Vacation Homes staff were great to work with and answered all my questions in a timely manner. We would definitely use their service again.

Manager Response:

Hello!
Thank you for the review - I'm happy to respond to a couple comments.

The access to Austin Creek at The Knot Hole is across the street, but it is owned by the owner of this home. He has set up a bench and several chairs in the creek for sunning and toe-wetting! So, this is your private creek spot! We always recommend supervising kids (of any age), especially around water. The road is very low traffic - dead-ending just a wee bit further up the road.

The septic system has been pumped since your stay, so that issue is resolved - thank goodness! We really appreciate it when guests call to let us know when something is amiss at a property. It doesn't happen often, but when something goes wrong between the time the cleaner or owner is at the house and when the guests arrive, we don't know about it unless you call, so thank you! We were able to get someone out right away to address this!

We really Love The Knot Hole! And we are always happy to hear from and about happy guests! Thank you for letting us know you had a great time - I hope we'll see you again!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/09/2012

 

"Fantastic, Relaxing Week"

5 of 5

My wife, our two kids, our dog, and I stayed at the Knot Hole for a week and had an wonderful vacation. The kids and the dog loved playing in the creek, and we all loved that it was just outside the door of the house. The house itself was lovely, and all the decks provided really comfortable places to relax outside. There really isn't anything we didn't enjoy about the house, what was provided, the area, or our whole vacation. We are already starting to plan our trip back.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/25/2012

 

"Relaxing"

5 of 5

The sound of the water running in the creek relaxed me every time I walked out onto one of the several deck spaces. I so enjoyed the view from the bedroom windows that I didn't want to close my eyes to sleep. I can't imagine how the owner of this fantastic home can bear to leave it!My only complaint has nothing to do with the home itself--the management company gave me the wrong keys & I experienced some difficulty getting that worked out.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for the review! The Knot Hole is a favorite... We all love the creek, rustic decor and escaping from the world! As the person who accidentally gave out the wrong keys - I am super sorry - still! But we did call you cell phone repeatedly to try to correct the issue and I drove to the home with the correct keys, but you hadn't gotten any of our voicemails!

:)
Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/19/2011

 

"great tranquil relaxing stay"

5 of 5

we had a great relaxing week,the kids loved it the house is just a great place to unwind .

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/14/2011

 

"Knot Hole"

4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Knot Hole. The locations was so serene & peaceful. Accomidations were so quaint!

Manager Response:

Hi!

We're so glad you enjoyed The Knot Hole!
:)

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/12/2011

 

"A great place to let time slow down"

4 of 5

We used to vacation nearby on Little austin Creek when the kids were small, about 20 years ago. When we went back nothing had changed along the creek, it is the same sleepy little bit of paradise.We had always driven past TKH and wondered what it was like, and we were pleasantly surprised. Cozy and clean inside, and there are several outdoor decks to spread out on and follow the sun. Must be one of the most relaxing environments in the world.The creek is a wonderful place to explore. Don't miss the bats feeding at dusk along the creek - an amazing sight to see.I would love to go back and do it again.

Manager Response:

I love it!
The Knot Hole is a great spot for quiet time and wild life... The first time I went to the house an otter was hanging out in a swimming hole by the house! It was awesome!

And I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed the house too! The owner pours his heart and soul into this home... There's added landscaping each year and subtle improvements that look like they've always been there.

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/10/2011

 

"Beautiful and Very Quiet"

4 of 5

Every aspect of this house has character -- location, layout, interior design, decorating. The owner obviously has spent a lot of time making it just right. The kitchen is better equipped than any rental I've ever had. One must really enjoy quiet, though, at least in the off season and in the rain. The silence can be deafening, and there was no CD/DVD player, just a TV with bad reception. Spending time there alone was downright eerie.

Manager Response:

Hello -
I'm sorry you had trouble with the electronics... There are actually CD/DVD players and cable service for the TV. Maybe a button on the remote was pushed wrong. I wish you'd called the office so we could get it fixed for you!

But we love The Knot Hole!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/10/2011

 

"Quiet, Private, Tranquil"

5 of 5

The bathtub set in the deck sold it and we were not disappointed. Perfect for a weekend getaway.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/07/2011

 

"Very peaceful."

4 of 5

This home is lovely. I thought the decorations were tasteful and elegant. The garden was beautiful. The kitchen is one of the better one's I've come across with quality pots and pans, a decent knife set and large stovetop. These were important because we were celebrating Thanksgiving together. The soft tub was a little small but quite comfortable and I wish there was a second couch so that all 4 of us could sit comfortably together. Other then that the stay was just what we were looking for. Beautiful, secluded location right on the water.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for sharing with future guests and giving us feedback - we really do want to hear what you have to say. And we forward your comments to the owner too! The Knot Hole is a great home and location for really getting away...

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/30/2010

 

"Bohemian experience."

3 of 5

The check-In procedure was good. It would have been nice to know that the second bedroom was only accessible from outside the main home. Since it was the rainy season this was somewhat of an inconvenience. More remote than we envisioned. Home was clean and cozy and since there was no cell service the wi-fi was great.

Manager Response:

Hello!
And thank you for the feedback... I always thought the 2nd bedroom was listed as having a separate, exterior entrance, but I see you are correct - that will be changed right away! Good catch - I hope it wasn't too terrible! At least the redwood trees soften the rain fall a bit...

The Knot Hole is a cozy, warm and wonderful place to hide from the city, friends, family, or anyone else! And a great spot to stay snug through the winter.

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/17/2010

 

"Relaxing Quaint Home"

5 of 5

i was very pleasantly surprised, this place is much more attractive than the already enticing pictures, the furnishing (& bedding) is updated and there were many charming surprises in the home's multiple nooks and crannies. Very cozy and tucked away from town in the forest, lots of privacy and all the little antique touches gave it a very homey, authentic feel. The place is very clean, although I do wished they had upgraded to nice handsoap instead of generic safeway brand, provide coffee & filters and nice basics, those kind of touches go a long way for me but i'm just nitpicky about that sort of stuff i suppose. Other than those minute criticisms i loved this place and would highly recommend it!

Manager Response:

Hello!

We love this tucked away location and cozy - with character - home too! Photos just don't do it justice...

It's hard to provide all the little things in every house, but we try! Coffee and filters are such a personal choice... But we're thrilled you enjoyed The Knot Hole and hope to see you again!

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/13/2010

 

"Wonderful, relaxing, and very comfortable!"

5 of 5

The house was so charming. We enjoyed cooking, playing Scrabble, and laying out on the decks under the beautiful redwoods. The creek was fun for my grandchild and the neighborhood was great for walks. At the end of the day, the beds were so comfortable, we felt like we were at home! We will be back again!!!

-Kate and family on 07/16/2010

 

"Full of Character"

4 of 5

The house is a lovely little cottage with more decks than you can shake a stick at. Multi-leveled, filled with plants in pots, there are plenty of places to relax an enjoy the sound of the creek just across the road. They've done a lovely job creating a place that feels very special and cozy.The small upstairs bedroom is only accessible up steep stairs from the back yard, and opens up to a large deck with plenty of loungers. It's a very quiet stretch, but you do have neighbors, so I don't think this is a great spot for a large and lively gathering. It's pretty tastefully decorated (which is pretty rare in vacation rentals) with a huge shower off the master bedroom. It's obvious whomever put this place together really took some time and thought.The hot tub is nicely screened from the upstairs deck, but when I went, there were large spiders all over the place, so I opted out. My only gripe is the very high cleaning fee given how much you have to do yourself upon check out. Having to start the wash when I'm paying $100 in cleaning is ridiculous, especially as the nightly rate isn't exactly cheap either. For that much money, I shouldn't have to do more than strip the beds, if even that. It was all disclosed beforehand in the contract, but I wanted to leave my two cents about it. I loved this house, but it's enough to keep me from coming back.

Manager Response:

Hello!

Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback! We really do appreciate it...

We hear a lot about cleaning costs and, unfortunately, the answer is pretty much the same each time. We have to pay the cleaners... They sanitize the house between each guest, spend hours doing laundry and cleaning everything else too. We ask folks to clean up spills that happen during their stay, wash and put away dishes, pull the sheets off the beds and start a load of towels. All of these things reduce the amount of time spent by the cleaner and help keep the cleaning fee down. We're also a family owned and operated business in a small town. We employ local folks and pay very fair wages.

The spiders aren't as big as in Hawaii or Costa Rica, but we sport some fair sized insects and arachnids under the redwood trees...

Megan Perkins
Russian River Vacation Homes

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/02/2010

 

"All you need is a new hot tub!!!"

4 of 5

Incredible place.....only have two things I would improve:1. Better hot tub. If you put something with tile or cement, good quality jets, hot hot water.....that would be a good addition.2. A better quality mattress, something a bit more firm. Other than that, we loved the place. especially the upstairs deck....awesome place to hang out.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/07/2010

 

"Charming, cozy, eclectic cabin"

5 of 5

We really enjoyed the Knot Hole. It's just down the road from a friends cabin and we have a big group of friends at her cabin for music, food, and fun. The Knot Hole was great for us. We shared the cabin with another couple and the separation of the second bedroom (up the stairs) from the master bedroom was really nice. Each couple could have our own space when we wanted.The yard was nice and being fully fenced allowed us not to worry about letting our two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels out without us watching them (yes, the Knot Hole is dog friendly). The outdoor dining areas were very nice and we made full use of them. The Knot Hole has a very nice, albeit small, kitchen. Modern, all stainless steel appliances.Parking is a little cozy, but East Austin Creek Rd. is not heavily traveled so not that big a deal.One day we'd love to find a place of our own in the area and East Austin Creek Rd. would be ideal. Given we can't do that right now, we'd rent the Knot Hole again in a heart beat until we can.

Manager Response:

So glad you enjoyed The Knot Hole!
br
Well behaved dogs are welcome at many of our homes... And in our office! We keep treats handy...
br
And we look forward to seeing you again soon!

br
~ Megan Perkins br
Russian River Vacation Homes

-CavalierBob on 01/07/2010

 

"Beautiful and relaxing"

5 of 5

We had a great time at the Knot Hole, the home is beautiful and very comfortable. We were very excited to see that the staff had started the fire for us Friday afternoon, we didnt' have to wait for it to get warm and cozy. Cazedero is a great compromise for us, he loves the forest feel to it and I love that it's only 10 minutes from the ocean. I wasn't expecting that the hot tub would actually be a soft tub, it all serves the same purpose but I was initally disappointed with it. Oh, and the bed in the master bedroom is super comfy!

-ShannonL on 12/17/2009

 

Location